Happy 10th Birthday Facebook! Taking Social Media To A New Level

It was 8 years ago that I joined this social media website to stay in touch with family, friends, people in relative to me and people I have met through my travels and beyond. Little did I know, that the circle would get bigger. I met some incredible, beautiful, lovely people from this social media website that I began to meet some of them in person a few years later, which made the world a smaller place. I have yet to meet a few people who I so badly want to meet that I met from other friends on Facebook by merely commenting on a picture or status message and we automatically grew fond of each other, so we added each other and our friendships have blossomed since then.We have become like a family and its an amazing feeling to know that you can take time away from life’s busy schedule and converse and keep updated with your Facebook Family online.

Facebook unites many people around the world. Its incredible on how things fall into place, and see how many people are interested in the same things you are by just joining groups, pages and fan pages of a famous personality, idol, or other miscellaneous things.

Facebook definitely makes the world smaller and in seconds a lot of photos, videos, links, news, sending wishes for birthdays, baby, wedding, engagement, graduation, university announcements, invitations to events and parties, status messages, comments, messages, likes, groups, pages, businesses, food, restaurants, menus, recipes, radio stations, entertainment, movies and other things gets transmitted throughout the world. Sometimes all you need is Facebook to get all your news and information with the help of Links of course. I love Facebook because it’s a website that I am so grateful for and for Mark Zuckerberg who created this so that our communication becomes easier with the world and encountering many people on all walks of life.

Thank you Facebook for Connecting me to the world and to people I would never have met if it wasn’t for you. I am so blessed to have you all on my list and I love you all very much! Mind you, I am very careful with my selections on who I choose to add-on my friends list. I have been around on the Internet since 1997 and I am very well-educated when it comes to social media moguls and everything else.

If anybody has anything bad to say about Facebook, it’s because of the way you use it, Some use it carelessly, some use it to do bad things, some use it to do stupid things. As long as you use Facebook wisely and know what you are doing, and what you are sharing, posting and who you have on your Facebook account, that is good, but do not post every single aspect of your life as it can be misinterpreted. So the bottom line is, if you do not want your personal business on a social media site, do not post it at all because somebody can see it within the second you post it. Some things have to remain private and don’t use Facebook to bully others, hurt or offend other people, Photoshopping in a bad way and making insensitive posts. Post wisely, because each thing you post does not go away, even after deleted. Especially on a Social Media website, that can be accessed by billions of people around the world. So be careful, exercise caution and use it to inspire, to be kind, to do great things with it like communicating, and enjoying it.

Do you use Facebook in a great way? Do you have an account? If so, what are your thoughts about the social media website? What do you like or not like about it? I would love to hear your opinions on it. How can you spread the awareness to use Facebook in a good manner and not use it in the wrong way?

Most about Facebook is good, incredible, and awesome and I believe that Facebook has changed the interface of communications forever. I wish FB Continued success throughout the years. Heres to strengthening communication of people from a distance, and cheers to everlasting friendships through Facebook across the many miles around the world. Happy Birthday Facebook! Heres to another 10 years and beyond!

4 thoughts on “Happy 10th Birthday Facebook! Taking Social Media To A New Level

  1. Talin, I love that you have met some of your Facebook friends in person after meeting them on the website. I have a Facebook account and I enjoy keeping up with many friends on there. I agree with you, we can get our news and information from Facebook and that is nice but we do have to use it wisely. I like Facebook and I’m thankful for it.

  2. I agree with what you said about negativity towards Facebook being in how you use it. I hear people complain that it’s boring, and they’re probably right, if you sit and simply scroll through your newsfeed for hours. I think it’s important to make sure you don’t ignore the people in your life face to face and not to use it to the point or in a way that it bores you, but it’s a great communication tool if you use it right and with respect!

Leave a comment