Another Travel Blog — I Love Cruise Ship Travel

In My Life I have taken 4 Cruise Ship voyages in the Caribbean and I must say it puts a whole new twist in the travel industry. Its incredible how one travel, takes you to several places all at once. I have been to almost all the Caribbean Islands and some I have stayed right in them such as Cuba, Dominican Republic. I have had so much experience traveling and so my family and I thought lets try cruising this time instead of going All Inclusive all the time to the resorts. in the year of 2000 going into 2001, My dad and I we were looking at Cruise Ship travel  for my family to go away again and we looked all over the net, and as well as going to various travel agent offices to obtain our copies of cruise brochures and books.

We did decide on a cruise and we went with a smaller cruise ship which was the Sundream at the time. We booked it and we decided to go on the last day of the year. We flew to Montego Bay, Jamaica and from there we went on board our ship and we celebrated the new year on board. From Montego bay we went to Cayman Islands, Cozumel, Dominican Republic, Havana, Cuba. We had such a wonderful experience, so our selection of the ship size were getting bigger and bigger. We then sailed Sundream’s Sistership the Sunbird from Aruba, a year later. We sailed to St Kitts, Antigua, Barbados, St Maarten. It was so lovely to see different Caribbean island Cultures and the people there. It was incredible. Definitely an experience of a lifetime.

In 2002, we sailed on Costa Cruises, the Costa Atlantica. This ship is Huge! I was about 17-18 at the time. It was a lot of fun. We flew to Fort Lauderdale, Florida, we went to Port Everglades. We saw about 8 other Cruise ships and they were so enormous in size and then we heard the Cruise ship Horn and it was ever so loud sailing out from Florida port. We then sailed to St. Thomas, Nassau, Bahamas, Costa’s Private Island, San Juan, Puerto Rico. At the time Digital Camera’s were starting to come out, but we had the other camera with the film, so we took so many rolls with us. It was incredible to see all these places that I have always heard about from the news, and doing so much research on all countries before getting to them. It was so incredible.

I just love different types of travel. Since then, I created an e-mail address with Cruiseship360 and i had that for a while. I still do, but i rarely use it anymore. I believe travel is one of the most incredible things about life and just going and seeing the world and just taking it all in. So I can say that I am well traveled and being on Airplanes, Cruise Ships, Buses, Cars, Trains, have been part of most of my life. I want to thank my dad for taking me to all these places. My dad has done so much for my family and I to go out and enjoy the world together, to travel, to get that experience instilled in us and since he introduced to us to travel, I love it so much that everytime I hear we are going somewhere, I am so excited and usually the first one to start planning, packing, researching for hours on end online about it, looking at photos, reading other peoples reviews, going to the ends of the internet to fully satisfy me until we go on that trip. I also go to the travel agencies and pick up oodles of books of pictures of the place or the ship I am going on and I would cut them up and put them in a special box of my travels. All my boarding passes from planes, my cruise ship stuff, all these things are kept in boxes. Like I said I am a very sentimental person in previous blogs ago.

I am so not a patient person when it comes to traveling. I would put countdowns, count the days on my calendar, put x’s on the days that go by and just go shopping. I notice everytime we book, the days seem to get a lot longer and the wait is crazy long. I sometimes try not to think about the trip I am going on so that I don’t torture myself, but then again I cannot lol. I am so impatient and I tend to talk alot about my upcoming trip. I used to do that a lot, but to be honest I am guilty and I still do it. lol. Everytime at the dinner table, during breakfast, or were sitting down in the living room with my family or when we go out, our trip is always on my mind and it cannot get out.

If you have any traveling planned and if its your first time or if you need information, do not hesitate to contact me. I will be happy to assist you.

Thanks for dropping by.

 

42 thoughts on “Another Travel Blog — I Love Cruise Ship Travel

  1. We love to travel, too. And to cruise. We’ve only cruised on one cruise line and, so far it’s taken us to the Western and Southern Caribbean. We plan to change cruise lines and itineraries in a couple of years when we cruise to Alaska. Our next cruise is next Christmas.
    I’m a calendar, countdown, how many days left kind of gal, too.

  2. What a nice post. Thank you for the offer. Money and health issues restrict my ability to travel. I usually just go East to Pennsylvania to visit my mother and my siblings who are in the area will come and see me, along with their children. I have 6 nephews and 4 nieces and I am so proud of all of them. They are each remarkable people in their own way. I am from a family of 5 children, and people used to say how amazing it was that we were so individualistic. Now double that number and you get my nieces and nephews. Each is their own person with a different focus on the world, different values, etc. One thing I think that they have in common is the bond of love that runs through my family. It sounds as though your family has that same bond. Sometimes we fuss and fight but we always make up and I think it makes the bonds stronger when we do. Sorry for the long comment but your post really touched me, especially your offer to help other people with their travel plans. Take care, Russell

  3. We’ve been on over 20 cruises; it’s our favorite type of vacation. But then, we live in the Fort Lauderdale area and can hop on a ship anytime. Our last voyage was on RCCL’s Allure of the Seas, the largest cruise ship in the world with nearly 5700 passengers. Yet you don’t feel crowded. Read more about it on my blog: http://nancyjcohen.wordpress.com Our favorite cruise lines are Princess and Royal Caribbean.

  4. exactly, i know english just a l little. but what i feel when i read your post that ….(just let me speak in my own language oke, it`s a sundaneese Indonesian)
    saleresna mah abdi tiasa bahasa inggris ngan ukur sakedik, tapi sigana tulisan ibu nyarioskeun masalah anu berhubungan hate. leres teu bu?

  5. You’ve been to where I live! I’ve also taken cruises to the neighboring islands, but I haven’t been to Cuba, Jamaica, Barbados, Cayman Islands or The Bahamas yet. Funny too, because I’ve visited Europe and the U.S. several times, but still haven’t seen places nearer to me. Shame on me.

  6. I’ve never been on a cruise before and intend to in the future. The one I’d like to go on is the Norwegian cruise or a cruise through the Mediterranean. I love traveling too, but haven’t been in awhile. Well, maybe there’s hope in the near future for that possibility. You’ve certainly got me thinking about cruises now :). Thanks for sharing your experiences.

  7. Cruising is the only way we travel now…. a floating resort and there is nothing sweeter then waking up each day in a new location. Once did a Mediterranean cruise over 21 days and 16 countries…

  8. Love reading travel stories, somehow makes you feel part of the trip, I have never done a cruise yet but I surely plan in doing so…. Great story, loved reading it.:)

  9. World Travel and Cruise Ship Tours make your life more interesting and adventurous… That is a great experience to remember and relive travel by cruise ships around the Caribbean…especially in Cuba!

  10. Last time I was on a cruise ship I hurled my guts and had congestion and itchy skin from the mold in the carpets (seriously allergic). Not a terrible fan of trains, planes or cars either. I’m a HUGE fan of transporter beams, like in Star Trek or Logan’s Run. Cannot WAIT for that.

  11. I am planning to travel overseas early next year – my goal! It will be my first time and although very excited, I am scared. I am not much of a traveler but for some reason the urge to get over there is now becoming harder and harder to ignore.

  12. Travelling has always been my big passion and when I was a little girl I wanted to become an air stewardess: that’s why I studied languages (I speak Spanish, French, English and I am now learning German). I believe if you can speak the local language you gain a lot more from your experience and you can understand the people and their cultures a lot better, bringing us closer together. My husband shares my passion and that’s why we bought a motor home 2 years ago and we love exploring Europe.
    I think the day I stop travelling will be the day I die.
    Keep enjoying your trips and sharing your experiences. I love reading about them too.
    Lots of love
    Fatima

  13. Well, it seems you and I share some of the impatience about waiting to travel. I research and research, looking for just the right deal in the right place, but then when I book, I can’t stop talking about going — the other women in my building got really tired of hearing about my plans for Mexico in 2009. In that case, I simply called my co-traveler, and we’d talk about the trip — almost every day!

  14. I enjoy your post! I love to travel as well, so I can second this emotion! I went to Uganda alone for a month and for me, that experience is exactly what travel means to me. More than sights and ethnic food, culture for me is what makes every trip worth while!

  15. Thanks for subscribing to my blog, Talin. I’d love to send you a chapter of a book I am trying to get published this upcoming year. If you would like a copy of it, just let me know of a way I can get it to you. Thanks again…and keep writing!

  16. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Nice to meet you.

    Ok, so maybe I’ll give the cruise thing another try. My hubs and I took one 12 years ago and were not that impressed. But then again, we did go during the time of college spring break so the ship was filled with obnoxious, drunk college students. We were only in our 20’s but still…to pay all that $$ to be surrounded by a bunch of drunks…not fun. I can get that experience in any local bar for a fraction of the price!! LOL

    “I believe travel is one of the most incredible things about life and just going and seeing the world and just taking it all in” I couldn’t agree with you more!!

    Thanks for the info Talin. You may have converted me!
    Beth

  17. I love to travel as well. I consider it one of the best gifts my parents gave me; the love for travel. Thus far, I have been on 5 cruises. (The Caribbean as a teen with my family, the Mexican Riviera and the Mediterranean with my husband, and the Caribbean and Alaska with my husband and 2 daughters. The cruises my husband and I took together were smaller ships, only 750 passengers with a 2:1 crew to passenger ratio. We were luxuriously spoiled!) I’ve also been lucky enough to travel through parts of Europe (both as a child and as an adult), Vancouver, and several states (including Hawaii twice).

    Travel was no small part of my upbringing (my parents traveled around the world about 6 or 7 times, and I have two sisters that have both taken a year “out of life” to travel around the world.) And, my husband and I have accomplished instilling the same love for travel in our children. (Our 17 year old spent a month in Mongolia this past summer and can’t wait to get back!)

    I have regretted certain purchases over the years, but never once have I regretted spending money on travel.
    Happy travels to you!

  18. I’ve never gone on a cruise before – but one day we’d like to! Travelling is so expensive for us and so we usually make the 1 trip a year to see my husband’s family in England. I’d love to take my husband to the Philippines (where I lived for a few years, growing up) but logistics (and expense) still needs to be worked out before we can dare dream! 🙂 I loooove travelling, though. I used to do it in the States when I was young and single. Now, not so much. One day…hopefully!

  19. I finally went on my first cruise in July, to Bermuda. It was beautiful there! If you have any good pics, consider posting them — would be nice to see all of the fantastic places you’ve visited so we can live more vicariously! 🙂

  20. My son and his wife like cruiseship vacations. My husband and I like to travel by motorcycle. When we go to places too far away to go by bike, we fly and rent a motorcycle when we get there.
    It sounds like you’ve had such wonderful adventures. I’ve been to a few islands, and love the Caribbean. Good post.

  21. We love to travel too, especially to the Caribbean! There are so many choice there! All of ’em beautiful…and warm. We need some pictures from you! I love to travel so much that I was considering doing a travel blog too but with two little ones it would be hard to travel that much. And them I thought do one where other contribute from their experiences too. But how to do that?
    Merry Christmas!

  22. We took a short cruise when we got married and had a great time. I suppose the next time we get to do that is when the kids are out of the house. I am glad we did it when we were able, it was a lot of fun.

  23. I love to travel as well. One of the greatest gifts my parents ever gave me was the opportunity to travel internationally when I was 12 or 13. It really shaped the direction of my life. I’ve only been on one cruise. It was great. I hope my husband and I will get to go on one at some point in the future!

  24. Loved your description of the anticipation of traveling. I feel the same way. I have been to the Caribbean but never on a cruise ship. One of my children is a little claustrophobic. I hope to do this one day.

Leave a comment