Has Visiting the Library Become a Thing Of The Past?

A few days ago, I decided to take a walk out by a shopping centre and as I walked by a Library, I saw tables, chairs and aisles all empty. Maybe 2-3 people were in there max. I began to think about how dependent people have gotten over using the internet now to find information instantly, rather than sifting through index cube cards, and looking through aisles of books to get what we want. over 10-15 years ago, you would see a lot more people in the libraries, nowadays, you don’t see many.

I admit, I haven’t been to a library in years because we can find all the information on the internet in the comfort of your own home instead of venturing out to the library which would take a while to research, read and everything. Remember the times when people used to buy Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedias that would take up room on our shelves? Now there is a thing called Search Engines that do all the work for us when we type something that we want to look for.

I still have my encyclopedias, and books on the shelves, but unfortunately; are collecting dust. I know its become a sad reality when it comes to that point. As much as I like searching for new and exciting things online. Nothing really beats opening up a book physically, reading it and making notes by hand instead of typing. I should dig into my books more often. Nowadays you see these books in second time around stores, garage sales, and sent to the local schools and libraries.

It is time to bring back the lively Libraries. I know there are people who still go there to study, have quiet time and everything, but it is nice to get out of the house and go to a new environment where you can see people, meet people and just browse around, take out library books to read, then return them in before the due date.

Do you still visit the Library?

23 thoughts on “Has Visiting the Library Become a Thing Of The Past?

  1. Miriam says:

    Absolutely! I think it’s a great resource. I don’t go as often now that the kids are getting older and so much is on-line, but it’s still a great way to source for new books and authors and even meet up with like-minded people.

  2. purpldragon says:

    I still visit the library weekly, I prefer to read physical books rather than read online. However I do mostly use online sources for information unless it is something I want to go indepth into which is when I get a book.

  3. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says:

    Being a former children’s librarian, this is a topic near and dear to my heart. It’s funny because I just watched a local program the other night on how libraries are adapting to the digital age. Most libraries loan out e-readers and laptops in addition to the more traditional materials like print books, dvds, and magazines. They even featured one library which loans out power tools and vacuum cleaners! The biggest change though is how libraries are now becoming community centers that appeal to every segment of the population. From wellness classes, to job-hunting workshops, to cooking classes, and of course all the programs for kids such as: story times, homework help, author visits, etc. I could keep going but I don’t want to make your eyes cross! Let me just say that I honestly don’t think that the public library is an endangered species.😊

  4. Kevin says:

    Libraries in the Seattle area are still quite popular. I have three library cards (one for the Seattle library system, and two for county library systems), and go to libraries 5–10 times a month, depending on what I am doing—e.g., for writing groups, poetry & story readings, sometimes to work, and occasionally to pick up a book I have reserved. Next Saturday (Feb. 13), I’ll be going to Seattle’s Central library branch (quite famous for its architecture) for the first time, to participate in an event with 59 other poets.

  5. Mrs Suvi says:

    I just loved libraries when I was a child. And even when my children were small – we’d visit every week. I have to admit that I’m now a Kindle person and I just took six bags of books to a charity shop, I’d rather not have them cluttering the house..

  6. ellenbest24 says:

    I haven’t been since we moved here as ours is only open a few hours a week, it is unkempt unmanned and sad. Now I feel guilty because if more went maybe it would improve. My task for this new week is to go regardless. Thank you for your post a timely reminder “Don’t use it you loose it!”

  7. franhunne4u says:

    I used to visit libraries more when I had more time and less money for reading. Now I can just take one of my over 150 unread books and read – and before I know it the few free hours are gone again and Real Life happens 😦
    And – I am busy online, too – not only when browsing blogs or writing my own. I also play online, shop online (often books, some used), search for information online, book travels online etc – or just waste my time on youtube and cheeseburger.
    I still LOVE libraries and I owe many good things I remember about my childhood to books from the library.

  8. Let's CUT the Crap! says:

    I love the library, but do not take out books as I have around 3,000 of my own. I wouldn’t know where to start if I had to borrow from the library.
    The trouble with the Funk and Wagnalls is they are now old ‘news’–as in the more recent stuff you still have to check for online.
    I do go to the library and our is always full of people using the computers and attending demonstrations, learning English, attending author talks. Our is a bustling beehive. Sorry to hear yours seems to have fallen out of favor. I hope libraries never die.

  9. christineplouvier says:

    My little town in Indiana has an excellent public library. It has all of the modern stuff you can imagine, offers innovative programs and activities, and is quite a lively place (the quiet study takes place in rooms on the periphery of the main hall). I recently enrolled in their service for homebound patrons. And they bought a copy of my book (which made it available to other member libraries in the state library network). How cool is that? 🙂

  10. Annette Rochelle Aben says:

    Our local library rocks! Always packed, offering incredible resources and a wide variety of activities all year round. The library supports our community and we support it. I have my card, visit often, they have all of my self-published books on their shelves, as well the works of other local authors. Oh, and we are not a teeny metropolis either, we are the 10th largest City in the State of Michigan! Come and join us.

  11. Sallie says:

    I actually belong to a volunteer organization called The Friends of the Library. We raise money through different programs in order to buy large print books, and fund the free museum programs for the patrons. Our library’s web site is constantly changing with new and interesting adult and children’s programs. Our library lends out cake pans and offers free movies and concerts among other events. We even collect gently used books and sell them in our book store. Check out the web sites of libraries in your area.You won’t be disappointed!

  12. mukhamani says:

    I love going to our library. I go there at least twice a month, sit there and read. I very rarely books because I get whatever I want to read from the library, we can keep them for 15 days. Somehow I cannot think of not going to the library:))

Leave a Reply

