Honesty Is The Best Policy – The Truth Will Set You Free

In life I believe that honesty is the best policy and the truth will set you free always. For some people being honest and forthright is a hard battle, and some people lie constantly and it is not a good trait to develop. Some people lie day in and day out and I know that the truth always comes out. No matter how much you try and hide it. There will always be a way that someone finds out. There comes a time where no one will believe in you anymore, the trust and respect will be gone. Once you start lying so much, people will have a hard time believing and trusting you. You can lose many friends that way, you can lose your reputation. If you are not honest with yourself, how can you be honest with other people? It all starts with you and how you portray you. You can’t get away with anything you lie about. Sometimes it happens where people don’t ever find out, but somehow they can.

Always be honest, even if it means standing alone. You may also lose friends too when you are honest, and that is an indication that they weren’t your true friends to begin with. I believe in Karma, and karma bites back ever so strongly when you are not telling the truth, and when you hide something from friends and family, when you do something terrible to someone. It always bites back and more powerful. I am sure everyone in life has told a lie here or there, and I know nobody is perfect. Sometimes we lie to others to make others feel good, sometimes we fib, and make up white lies, but nothing beats honesty. If you are afraid of hurting someones feelings, don’t be. I would rather have an honest enemy telling me the truth to my face, then a fake friend who doesn’t speak up and who doesn’t tell me the truth and says terrible things behind my back. Sometimes the truth hurts and we must always be prepared for it. I would rather be hurt, then be lied to. Being lied to is far more worse than anything else in this world.

When you are out on a date with someone you just met, it is always a good idea to tell the truth always, be honest about you and your life. The person you are on a date with, will appreciate it. We all have done things we are not proud of, we all have done mistakes in the past and telling your date the truth and being honest is something very good to do. Especially in the beginning and of course always. When you have something to say, say it, and don’t lie about it. It always comes out and people find out one way or another. You can never hide anything because lies always come out and once it does, it is like poison, it effects your relationships, it effects a lot of things. People will then spread it around and tell people, oh look at that liar, don’t be his/her friend, or don’t get near that person because they lie so much. You wouldn’t want that.

It is written in the Bible, and in the 10 commandments that lying is a sin and that is one of the biggest sins of the world. Standing up for whats right, taking the side that is right, and always being honest is the way to go in life. First you must be true to yourself, then you can go out in society and be truthful to others. I’d rather be honest, then impressive. Honesty is an expensive gift, do not expect it from cheap people with a cheap personality trait. You are responsible for whatever you say and do. You can run but you can never hide. Just be honest and everything else will come in place.

46 thoughts on “Honesty Is The Best Policy – The Truth Will Set You Free

  1. Mocha says:

    Fact is, all lies, all evil deeds, they stink. You can cover them up for a while, but they don’t go away
    -inside man
    sorry guess I’m a little more blunt:)

  2. Julie says:

    I agree completely… I am a big believer in the truth, even when it hurts. One of my biggest pet peeves is when we are meeting up with someone and my husband tells them we’ll be there in 5 minutes when we are 15 minutes away!!!

  3. beingtheenlightened says:

    People build lies upon lies, even if you catch them. I have been bold enough since a child to not lie and I feel people are scared around me because they know I don’t like gossiping and I don’t like lies thereafter. When I have been honest and open people have been afraid. They say we are adults now and we should conceal some things that have been said, but in the end that is also lying in my books. I think if you are adult enough you should not have to lie and if you feel something is worth saying behind someone’s back then you should be able to say it to their face too. Why think you so powerful to do it behind their back but not powerful enough to do it to their face, the only reason I can think of is that you are afraid and maybe because you not sure if you are right, yet you are not brave enough to discuss it. It is really a shameful thing.

  4. ramblinann says:

    Very nice post.
    I tried instilling this in my children when they were growing up. Tell me the truth always. If you did something wrong I would much rather hear the truth from you then be lied to and learn about it later. The punishment for lying will be worse than the deed.
    To this day I do not like to be lied to.

  5. Judi says:

    ” I would rather have an honest enemy telling me the truth to my face, then a fake friend who doesn’t speak up and who doesn’t tell me the truth and says terrible things behind my back.” That sums up how I feel about honesty. The truth always finds a way of bubbling up to the surface – eventually but surely. However, the person receiving the truth needs to be prepared to accept it. Honesty is a two-way street in that sense. Sometimes people choose to live in/with the lie (whatever it may be and whatever the situation) because it’s “easier” or they’re in denial or they have too much to lose etc. Great post!

  6. mosrubn says:

    This article reminds of something that I read yesterday on LinkedIn and was sharing with somebody this evening. The writer was looking at the future of the young people now living in an era of run-away technological changes where machines are taking over many jobs and tasks. And the writer was talking about earning a living by solving problems and he talked about creativity as one way of standing out but above all he talked about honesty as being that one “unique selling point” anyone could use to market themselves.
    Thanks again for sharing and reminding your readers of this blessed trait.

  7. Boogie says:

    amen! What’s worse is some people lie for fun not even considering the people they will hurt along the way.

  8. Allae says:

    lying creates black spots in the heart and first and foremost,it is your own destruction. Jesus have found to be said in the lost GOSPELS, THAT if You bring forth what is within y
    ou,what you bring forth will save you, if you don’t bring forth what is within you, what you don’t bring forth will destroy you.

  9. jeanw5 says:

    Honesty can be different things to different people; an excuse to criticize, or disclose information that is really no business of the person who asks you to. Honesty is the best policy when it refers to being honest with yourself. Be kind to others, even when a limited idea of honesty might encourage you to let them know how stupid, rude, abusive, or whatever, you think they are, at the moment, and everything is at the moment. They might be feeling upset about something that has nothing to do with you, but you seem to be an ideal target, at this moment. They may be worth being compassionate with, for the potential they may have to be a valuable person in your life, long-term. Who knows? I honestly do not.
    Jean

  10. BigLizzy says:

    Nice! I couldn’t agree more, my new friend. Truth is of higher vibration. It’s right. It’s what we are all capable of and hopefully moving toward in even greater numbers. Thank you for following me at BigBodyBeautiful. I’m having fun on your blog, too! Warm hugs, BigLizzy

  11. Margo Blue says:

    I love this. Incredible. The first sentence did it for me: In life I believe that honesty is the best policy and the truth will set you free always. This is exactly how I felt after I wrote my pregnancy post. 🙂

    Margo

  12. allthingstrisha says:

    I don’t believe in lying but sometimes people use honesty as an excuse to be rude or mean. Pray about how and when to revel truth. Remember Christ knew who would betray him but yet he kept the name to himself!

Leave a Reply

