How Dependent The Internet Has Become In Our Lives

Since 1997 when I joined the world of the internet, all I had was dial up for about a year and a half to 2 years until cable internet was introduced. I have learned so much since then on how to operate a computer and getting on the internet, doing searches on my favourite stuff, and e-mailing my family from all over the place and just having a great time. I have realized how dependent the internet has become in my life. It is a lifeline to communicate with friends, family, sharing pictures and videos together and among so many things. I love the internet, but I don’t let it control my life. Living life outdoors and socially is far better, but when communicating with friends and family from out of town, it is one beautiful tool with searching anything and everything you want. It is all on how you use it and utilize your time of course in a safe way. It has been a vital part of my life, but not to the extremes and excessively.

This is a true story that has happened to me a few times in the last few years. I must admit that when my internet goes down at home and when I cannot connect to my wireless or anything, I feel like I am cut out from the world and left out, it is one of the worst things I see on my computer internet icon with the bars. I do anything and everything to get the internet back, and I even go to extreme measures and call up the internet provider and He/she tells me to press the reset button and its back to normal again. I was so relieved. That is one thing I fear not being able to connect to friends and family online. I end up twiddling my thumbs and fingers, and then I end up forcing the internet to come back on and it does within the few minutes. I realized how important the internet is and I just go crazy when its not working. Using it wisely and smart is very important too. Don’t put all your time into the internet. It can be a health problem and so much more. Limiting yourself and setting up time limits is the way to go. A few years back I would not get off of it, and I would be yelled at for doing so, but nowadays for the past 3-4 years I made some drastic changes and it was actually a big accomplishment and I am so happy about that. It has changed my life big time. I get all my news instantly, specials and deals come to my e-mail, everything incredible.

Have you been dependent on the internet? Has it changed your life in a way?  Would love to hear from you.

7 thoughts on “How Dependent The Internet Has Become In Our Lives

  1. Missus Tribble says:

    For me, the internet is my lifeline. As you know, I have a disability – so the ability to buy everything I need by a click of my mouse is vital to me. I can’t spend too much time in town because I’m not very mobile, so clothes, cross-stitch kits, sewing supplies and just about everything else I need is bought online. The internet also came in handy for grocery shopping when our car was out of action.

    I also wouldn’t have half of the real life friends I do because I can barely leave the house, and without certain real life friends I wouldn’t have met my husband 🙂

  2. Kate Policani says:

    I took a trip to the mountains a few weeks ago with my kids, and there was no internet! There wasn’t even any cellphone service. It was a severe shock. I actually used a pay phone. It felt like a time warp, but I survived and I really appreciate my tech right now.

  3. neatnik2009 says:

    I have to use the Internet professionally, for I teach college and use a website (which checks for plagiarism) as a “drop box” for tests and other assignments. And, as an avid blogger, I have found WordPress to be an useful means for self-expression and reaching out to others. Yet I prefer to leave my computer off most of the time. I do not need to sit very long at a stretch or to read too much off a screen for too long. And birds, skies, and breezes are really quite interesting.

  4. deannagreensandgardenart says:

    The internet is how so many of us run our personal and professional business. I love having access to information world-wide, and write with international bloggers. Yet I loved the solitude of my 10-day vacation away from home and the office, staying in a remote lakeside cabin in the north woods of Minnesota. No TV, cell phones, or computers! Commune with nature and people in person.

  5. jfay1995 says:

    I am constantly on the internet for writing on my blog and working on my novels, promoting, doing the ebay listing thing, etc…. it’s a big part of me, but I also find down time when I want to do my crafting and I make sure that I get outside for a bit too and do other things once in a while. I think it’s different for those of us who have families that live further away in other states. I’m sure if I lived nearby them, they might be knocking on my door sometimes to get me off the laptop.

    But in this day and age, we need the internet to connect with the world and let them know about us. That is very important to get ourselves out there. So I wouldn’t be one to shove the laptop away for a week or even a few days. I’m a writer and I need it.

Leave a Reply

