About My Previous Blog – My Apologies If It Was Overwhelming For Some People

I would like to take today to apologize for my previous blog about what I wrote about the Illiterate Generation we live in Today. I just feel and from what I am seeing when I am out in public and everything, I see technology doing the thinking for people when it comes to basic math and everything and that is why I am so concerned and I had to touch base on this subject as why it is important to me. I mean there is a limit as to how much technology we use on a daily basis. I believe that I have right to express what I feel and what I have been witnessing. If I was not a concerned person about this subject, and if I didn’t genuinely care, I wouldn’t even have bothered writing such a blog, but I do care about this subject a lot as the new generation comes in and life is truly changing by day and sometimes life changes in a fraction of a second.

What my blogging passion is, is that I want to make a difference in this world and touch base on recent society, recent happenings, issues, and merely about certain subjects that need to be discussed and blogging is a universal language and we all learn from each other and express our feelings and the freedom of expression to subjects that need to be addressed such as my previous blog. My blogs are about positivity, optimism and touching base on important topics. I know that sometimes my writing needs improvement in terms of paragraphing and everything but this is the way I want to express my blogs, this is the way I learned it, and the way I feel. I never write things as an outline of what I want to talk about. It just comes naturally and I just start writing and writing. It just comes to my brain and boom its being written. Again I am sorry if I pushed a few buttons of people but I did warn people in my previous blog that its all meant in general and its all from my heart and soul and I am pouring my heart out into the blogs and the subjects I write.

I am just so passionate about blogging and I am so passionate about these subjects. My eyes were teary eyed just reading some of the comments that people left me that they were sort of attacking me in a way and it really got to me. I was in a crummy mood all day and tonight when I was gone out with friends, they had asked me what was wrong and what happened, I just didn’t want to say anything and I said oh don’t worry about it, just thinking about stuff. No big deal. I was just so stressed out today and you all bring valid and great points. I really never meant it in a way that I was pointing fingers at anybody, but I just had to speak the truth about technology and what it is doing. My friend is a teacher in elementary school and i have a few friends who are teachers and they told me about stories on kids that cannot go without a calculator or some sort of technology without even writing and holding a pencil or pen in their hand anymore and I keep hearing them and I said something must be done, I must write about this ASAP. People are so dependent on these gadgets and stuff, that people are going haywire to see the newest technology and want to be first in line to get it. That is all. that was my take on everything.

Again my apologies.

 

41 thoughts on “About My Previous Blog – My Apologies If It Was Overwhelming For Some People

    • marthareynoldswrites says:

      Addressing only this post: yes, Talin, grammatical errors on a blog happen, but you should care enough about the words and sentences you write to correct any errors, even if it means having someone else proof your draft before publishing. Sometimes the meaning is lost in the midst of errors.

  1. bzirkone says:

    Do not apologize for saying what you think. Say what you want. Write what you know. If you worry about upsetting people you will never write anything interesting. If you change your mind the next day – write a new post about the opposite thing. Free advice is worth what you pay for it (like mine, here). People will find a way to be negative, even if they have to go out of their way to do it. You made some great points. Keep writing. Quit worrying about your audience. If they don’t like it – they will unsubscribe. Who cares? If writing is your passion – find your voice and do it and haters be damned. You will appeal to plenty of people who respect your content and overlook mistakes. Those are the readers you want, not the naysayers and bitchers. Keep writing. Don’t be intimidated.

  2. Erik says:

    It seems you have become too comfortable with only getting praises. You have to be comfortable with criticisms too if you want to become a good writer who articulates her points clearly without wanting to apologize every time someone disagrees with her. As an aspiring writer, you should always expect the worst from readers as far as comments are concerned. If you want everyone to just praise you, you clearly are on the wrong path. I’ve read the comments on the first article. I don’t see anything that makes one teary eyed. In fact, the comments are very well articulated counter-arguments to your article. You should rather thank them, and either defend your position or accept the criticism (sometimes you have to swallow bitter pills); just as you claim you have the right to express your opinions, readers too have that same right; just as you are sensitive to their comments, they too can be sensitive to your opinions that kind of seem self-righteous. The truth may hurt but it will make you strong. Since you really take your blogging seriously, I recommend that you should take advanced writing classes to become a more fluid, and better writer. Writing is a craft that can be learned and improved. Even the best writers go to seminars to sharpen their writing skills. Good luck!

    • marthareynoldswrites says:

      Talin, Erik’s comment is the one you should consider the most. Criticism comes with writing! One of my recent posts (http://marthareynoldswrites.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/veggies-and-hoodies-and-smoothies-oh-my/) generated a good deal of Twitter traffic, not all of it kind. I can learn from any (valid) criticism. Your post about an illiterate generation was by no means “overwhelming.” And I did mention in a previous comment that I admire your outlook and discipline to write, but that your writing would benefit greatly from an editor. I wouldn’t think of posting anything with my name attached to it unless it was proofread. And I understand that some readers of your blog would strongly disagree with me that correct spelling, punctuation, and grammar matter. But wasn’t that one of the points of your blog?!

      • Missus Tribble says:

        Talin, my previous comment still stands because that is how I feel – anybody who is trying to type in a language not their own has my admiration. Having said that, I can also see what Martha is saying – and I believe that she means this comment in the kindest possible way. Constructive criticism, in my experience, is so valuable to any writer – even somebody like Terry Pratchett will have somebody critique every single page before sending his manuscript for publishing.

        From the age of ten I was so far ahead of my schoolfriends in reading, spelling, vocabulary and creative writing that my teacher would ask me to help out the kids who were more behind. My Mum (whose spelling and grammar are atrocious to the point that I suspect she has a degree of Dyslexia) always asked me to proofread her letters to her father before she sent them. If somebody is searching for a specific word for something they come to me; apparently I am a walking, talking Thesaurus!

        However, that doesn’t mean I never make mistakes. Like anybody else my fingers will occasionally slip on the keyboard and I will either miss a letter or hit the adjoining one without realising. Each time I blog I read what I intend to print at least four times searching for errors. Even then, I often find myself having to edit because somehow a capital letter turned out lower case or I hit the space bar too many times. Seeing mistakes on my blog really does make me feel very uncomfortable and I correct them as soon as I notice them.

        I never struggle to follow your train of thought and I find your entries very refreshing. I think that all anybody here is trying to do is offer you good, friendly advice to help you along the writing path 🙂

  3. thenaughtypoet says:

    Don’t apologize for what you see and feel. And personally I could care less about paragraphing spelling or whatever. Your blog is just that, your blog. Write what you want when you want regardless of what others think. I love what you write and will continue to read no matter the topic.

  4. Naomi Baltuck says:

    Hi Talin, if you express your opinions, there will always be people who agree with you or disagree with you. Some of the comments made seem a little mean-spirited to me, but you have to let it roll right off your back. I like what bzirkone had to say about it. You have made some valid points in your post, and so have they. You have sparked a good discussion where readers might actually learn something.

    As to grammar and punctuation, in my opinion the message is what counts and the story’s the thing. I am nominating you in my next post for the 7×7 Link Award. One of the things you will need to share is a link to your most controversial post, and now you will have something to list! Don’t be discouraged. You are doing a fine job.

  5. Missus Tribble says:

    I see no need for an apology. English is not your first language, and I admire your bravery in blogging English when you know that your spelling and grammar aren’t perfect. Even a proof-reader can make mistakes: some very well-known authors really ought to fire theirs because the glaring errors in grammar, punctiation, paragraph spacing and spelling make an otherwise wonderful book extremely painful to read. People with far worse English than you are making a living out of it, so I really wouldn’t worry.

    Your blog is not painful for me to look at. You are a wonderful storyteller and I like to read about your adventures – especially the stories about truck stops and service stations!

  6. Missus Tribble says:

    Also, I just spotted a glaring error in my own comment and cringed. Where’s the “edit” button when you need one? Time to trim my nails, I think… 🙂

  7. thewondermya says:

    Hi Talin I really don’t think you need to apologize. You have the right to think and express what you want on your blog. Other people have the right to disagree as well. Be strong and own it ! You are supported as you can read with all the comments here ! All the best to you !

  8. Sylvia D. Lucas says:

    Hi, Talin. I went over to the other entry to read the comments, and I don’t think they warranted such a heartfelt explanation, though I understand why you wrote it. I thought most of the readers who disagreed with you were actually very polite in their disagreement, for the most part, and they raised valid questions.

    I think they were taking a cue from you and sharing their own concerns regarding technology (such as blogging software) and its “proper” use, and I can’t say that I haven’t had the same feelings as a few of them expressed about what seems to be your lack of interest in the blogs of those who follow you and take time to regularly leave comments. The comments section is often where the engaging occurs. It’s a space for your readers to react to you, and for you to reply (say, to specific questions or criticisms). You could even have used the comments section to reply to the criticism you received and eliminated the need for this apology.

    The Internet is a strange place, and there will always be people who question or disagree with you. I think the manner in which your readers disagreed is evidence of the kind of reader you attract: kind, fair, and understanding – even when they argue with you. It could have been, and I’ve seen, much worse. I hope you try to look at it from that perspective.

    – written on my phone 😉

  9. fatimasaysell says:

    We have a terrible problem with our kids refusing to turn their mobile phones and Ipods off during class. I’ve confiscated them before, but feel threatened by the older ones. It sickens me that the weak management we have seems incapable of doing anything about it and it’s left to class teachers to sort out a problem which should be dealt with by headteachers.

    • Pattie Crider says:

      I see kids texting in college classes ALL the time. Even in front of the professor. Some profs make them put the phone away others don’t say anything, but trust me, they notice. Every prof states in their syllabus that no cells should be on and if they see you texting, you will lose points in your participation grade.
      At a high school level, send the kid to the principal and make them turn the phone in until the end of the day.

      • fatimasaysell says:

        Yes, we do and I have confiscated them before, but they come back again and the problem is never resolved. Why do we need these things in the classroom anyway? We’ve managed all these years for generations and now students don’t seem to be able to live without them. They are for leisure time, not lessons.
        Thank you so much for your comment. I appreciate it.

        • Pattie Crider says:

          I don’t know why kids can’t survive for a 50 minute or 90 minute class. I turn my phone off during classes and MAYBE check inbetween. Do HS kids have time between classes to check their phones? I agree completely HS kids don’t need to take their phone out of their bookbag all day, but you know they will.
          Kids lives revolve around their friends via text…Now that I’m an adult in a college setting it’s even clearer to me. Why? Because my world revolves around my kids and furthering my education to the highest level I can achieve in 4 years, not my phone or friends. Not that my adult friends aren’t important….I know they are there for me because….they read and comment on my blog and facebook!

        • fatimasaysell says:

          Thank you, Pattie. How I wish there were more sensible young students like yourself! I teach in a school where just about every student has some kind of learning difficulty, from dyslexia to HDAD and autism, so we try to be a bit more relaxed and accommodating. My husband teaches Art and Photography in the same school and it’s not a problem for him if students are listening to their music whilst doing their work, but trying to teach anything else, especially a foreign language like I do, is a nightmare and they don’t seem to understand that I cannot teach them anything if they are not listening to me.

        • Pattie Crider says:

          They will understand….sadly, after they fail.
          I love the language lab at York College of PA. We don’t go as a class often but it is helpful to practice with classmates.

          My wonderful art professor Rebecca Quattrone always let us play music on an old boombox when we worked on our projects.

        • fatimasaysell says:

          Yes, that’s great and most of us allow it when the time is appropriate, but when students are told to switch their gadgets off, they shouldn’t give the teachers any lip or grief and argue with them after their kindness to let them use it in the first place.

  10. grandfathersky says:

    Start: Have you read ‘The Medium is the massage’. In it McLuhan says. We shape our tools and then our tools shape us.
    Next: And noble laureate whose name is don’t recall stated ‘an abundance of information causes a poverty of attention…
    Goto: Start

  11. GretchenR17 says:

    having been a teacher, a substitute teacher, home-schooling parent, and just a regular-ol-parent, I have seen the wide variety of students and their skill sets. I still agree with you; use the brain God gave you, if absolutely necessary use technology. Hang in there!!

  12. xxxxxxxx says:

    Hey… No apologies Talin, your blogs are great and speak Volumes, you will always have few that will say or criticize, this is life sometimes you learn from them if they are valid. I know my multiplication table by heart that is the first thing they teach in my days and every person should know rather than using a gadget. I also agree what Erik and few others wrote, so keep on blogging some will like some will criticize nothing wrong in learning and expressing thoughts, Technology is great and some of the inventions are great for mankind to help improve life stiles.

    I also agree what Sylvia said and few others, as You know I am not a writer just a reader but enjoy very much reading them LOL and love your BLOGS so keep on writing and just accept some of the criticism with a smile.

  13. neenergyobserver says:

    No apology necessary, Talinn. You were right but, even that doesn’t matter, it’s your blog and your opinion. Your opinion is no less valid than anyone else’s, so be proud that you’re intelligent and aware enough to have one.

    You write well in what I tend to call a conversational style. Yes, your grammar and syntax could use some help, well, so could mine and I’m a native English speaker, and my mother was an English teacher. But the real point (to me, anyway) of a blog is the thinking of the author; if that gets through, it’s all good.

    As to your points on technology, your point is very valid. Many, many people today (especially young ones) cannot function without it, which puts artifical limits on them. Some day they will pay a price for that. Tools used properly are wonderful things, though.

    The good thing here is: We all know that you read your comments. 🙂

    Carry on, you’re doing great.

  14. Lexi says:

    I’ve just commented on that post and I just want to say that I don’t think people were trying to attack you, as I know I wasn’t, but simply putting my opinion. I hope you’re doing okay.

  15. itsawonderfilledlife says:

    I love what you write, and you obviously love to write. THIS is your blog, write what you feel passionate about, what is in your heart and soul (and I know you do). The bad (comments) come with the good … that is simply part of the package of saying what you believe. Keep writing!
    Carole

  16. itsawonderfilledlife says:

    Oups! I forgot, “Don’t ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don’t change to please others — When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test” — Unknown … this is at the top of your page … don’t forget it!

  17. Fiona says:

    I think most other people have said what i want to say. It’s your blog, your opinion – and you were right anyway. nothing harsh about stating the obvious. there are always going to be a few people who are offended, mostly because it hits a little too close to home for them personally and hey, denial is much preferable, right? 😉

  18. apronheadlilly says:

    The rule at a writers’ group I once attended was that you must say something positive first before any negative critique. I think that is good advice, and I use it in my classes. Press on!

  19. Danielle de Valera says:

    Don’t apologise, Talin. YOU ARE ENTITLED TO YOUR OPINION. If people don’t like it, they don’t have to read it. It’s better to be true to yourself and lose a few followers, than be untrue to you and keep them. You can’t please all of the peole all of the time.
    Where technology is concerned: Technology is the new god,. Speaking out against it is like standing in front of an express train. Personally, nothing would make me happier than to wake up one morning and discover that the net had died and the best brains in the world could not resuccitate it. I’d hold the biggest party.
    Best to you,
    Danielle
    PS You do need to take more care with your posts and edit them more carefully. Less stuff of good quality is always better than more of poor quality.

  20. Little Miss says:

    Post what you want to, it’s your blog!

    Don’t let people dictate to you.

    Some people are always going to disagree, and it’s great to have other peoples view points.

    No need to apologise for your post, keep your head up and your thoughts strong

  21. writeonpublishing says:

    Talin,
    Again, don’t worry. I have predicted that by the end of this next generation no one will be able to spell, add and subtract, certainly count out change, and even to make good sentences, paragraphs, or full thoughts. They won’t be able to concentrate on one thing at a time.
    Texting does nothing for the spelling, calculators for simple math, computerized cash registers for the NEED to count out cash (and credit/debit cards for handling cash in the first place). Good writing content won’t be encouraged; it won’t be necessary. And gaming will steal any opportunity for multi-tasking.
    I think we all probably – in our heart-of-hearts – agree that technology can do just as much “bad” as “good”. Caution and good sense only can prevent it.
    Wayne

  22. Pattie Crider says:

    Now that I’ve read English is not your first language, I am even more impressed with your writing.

    I wrote about a new religious movement “The Church of GA” and you would have thought I was sacrificing humans by some people’s reactions. LOL

    I take the good comments with the bad and I DO try to respond to comments as often as possible so people know I DO read them. 🙂 Sometimes, the mean comments generate the most traffic to my sight.

  23. Rebecca Booth says:

    Well said but you shouldn’t apologise for expressing yourself and being honest. You are just being true to yourself and that’s something you shouldn’t have to change or say sorry for. As for the negative comments, well haters are going to hate and it shows them for what they are.
    Best advice is to brush it off and carry on with your held held high!

Leave a Reply

