The Facebook Timeline Yay Or Nay?

In the past few months Facebook Implemented the Timeline. I just think it is becoming way too much and some people post every single detail about them on facebook and add people whom they don’t really know and associate with. I think that is a very unsafe thing to do. The Facebook timeline includes creating a cover for your profile, then you add family members friends to your list, then so many things. I am starting to dislike facebooks features. The timeline is something where people put more and more personal information and everything else. Privacy is the thing of the past now. Everything is being monitored and everywhere is being photographed for the Google Street view and you can see the type of vehicles and the type of house people have. I mean there is no more privacy anymore and some people fall for the trap to put all that information on their timelines and all your life events from childhood to now and so many things are posted. I mean where do we draw the line? I say Nay to Facebook timeline. It is just too much and I think that Facebook has lost its style because before all these new features happened, Facebook was great when it was just a social network to connect with friends and family and now all these games and applications on facebook has truly diminished the quality facebook was before. I mean don’t get me wrong, the facebook technology to keep in touch with long lost friends and keeping up with family is such a great tool and social network to share photos and your life with them all, but when it comes time to really posting every single little thing about you, that draws the line.

The Timelines is indeed too much. Now you have to go to so many different pages to get to your likes, and pages, and its just so complicated. A lot of my friends ask me how to get around the timeline and how to do this or that and I do not even know that well. I mean I have had it for sometime now and I still don’t quite understand it. It is unbelievable. I fell into the trap when they had a newsfeed prompt saying that try the timeline, take the tour or something, i went in and I made a mistake by publishing it and I didn’t know how to get out of it and now I am trapped into it and unfortunately everyone has no choice that eventually everyone will start to have it and then I think there will be quite a few people de-activating their accounts due to that and a few people I know already have done that and now are only on Twitter and they sent me their e-mails to keep contacted via E-mail.

I still think facebook back from 2006 to 2008 was at its prime and really great. Now I give facebook a 7 out of 10 rating.

32 thoughts on “The Facebook Timeline Yay Or Nay?

  1. Naomi Baltuck says:

    You are not the first friend who has expressed regret about opting for TImeline, because now she can’t “undo” it. I don’t want it, and will hold off as long as I can.

  2. rose says:

    I deleted my fb account for about 3 weeks last fall. I went to google plus. But my daughters were griping because they put their photos of the grandkids on facebook and so I went back. I kind of like it, because now on the newsfeed I can control the posts from all of my whacky friends who post everything under the sun. If you click on the link that says shows important updates or whatever it says, you only get the real posts about something. It took a little time, but I have mine set up just how I want it. It’s a lot better.

  3. mcolmo says:

    I’ve never been a huge fan of facebook. I think it’s basically for stalkers and show-offs, that’s why I don’t post too much stuff over there, but I think the timeline is so-so.

  4. LINDA MARKARIAN says:

    I AGREE 100%, THE ONLY THING NICE ABOUT IT YOU SEE LARGER PICS BUT AS FAR AS YOUR WALL VERY CONFUSING AND NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. FEW THAT DON’T HAVE IT YET SHOULD KEEP TIGHT

  5. xxxxxxxx says:

    What a mess… I try not to post anything private but still it is disturbing, the only thing I like with this new time line is the view of large pictures and that is it, in blocks on your wall is more confusing the new with the old, it takes too much space, now i am thinking the only way to make it a little pleasant and easy to read is to make every single post in a landscape form, that way everything will be posted in the right order and much larger lol,.. I will certainly try that.. but all in all I am not happy with this timeline and whoever has still the old format should hold on to it

  6. namabakery says:

    Facebook has become so overwhelming and I agree, 2006-2008 was around their prime time. A lot of features that have been added on since then seem unnecessary and just adds clutter to the interface. I definitely don’t like how my whole life feels even more exposed with this new timeline, and you have to be so careful about what you post, because even people who aren’t even on your buddy list, aka ‘Subscribers’, might see it (depending on your privacy settings). What annoys me the most about this new timeline interface is how the main content is divided up into basically 2 columns, and your eyes have to jump back and forth from one column to the other in order to read every posting in chronological order. I think this puts more strain on the eye, and takes more time and effort to read through someone’s timeline. Also, is the giant banner up top necessary? Now I need to worry if my banner image matches my profile picture, and I might even have to resize images that I want to use for the banner. So much work. Geez.

  7. spilledcookies says:

    I don’t like it, at least at the moment. It’s a bit confusing and nothing seems to be in any order. I just don’t like the way it’s all blocked up and arranged. I should probably take more time to go through the tutorial or whatever, but I really miss just being about to see what’s going on at a glance, after all that’s why I liked FB in the first place.

  8. lscotthoughts says:

    I don’t want it, either, Talin, but on my poetry page, it states as of the end of this month, everyone will have it. I’m not thrilled, so will also hold out as long as I can…Nay! 🙂

  9. Miss Molly says:

    YAY. I’m an early adopter. I like the new timeline very much. As with anything you control what you put out there. You can also control what you see. I have a Google+ account but I never post anything there other than my very public blog posts. As with anything, you should never post anything that you wouldn’t care if the whole world read. I gave up on the concept of real privacy many years ago.

  10. SweetP says:

    I agree with some stuff that you said, yes people put way too much out there, but you still have control of what you put on your timeline, you don’t have to put anything if you don’t want too. And I still look at my Home page which shows my news feed like it always has. So I guess I’m not finding it too opposing, I don’t look at my profile page too often at all. Hope things get easier for you on FB!

  11. Jayne says:

    They are parts about the time line I like and some I don’t. I do like having a cover photo. As far as privacy goes it is really all up to the person to put what they want and don’t want on fb. I do get tired of hearing people complain and their love lives. Especially if they are divorcing. Please keep that private. I don’t like how “a friend of so-snd-so” can comment on my stuff. If I meant for them to see it I would befriend them.

  12. sjhigbee says:

    Like you, I don’t like the Timeline… Be honest, I’m not too fussed about being tempted into posting too many personal details onto FB. Being an ‘older’ user, I went onto FB with a very clear idea of exactly what I wanted from it – to keep in touch with a tranche of friends/acquaintances who I don’t see very often, as well as sharing my blog articles.

    No – my grizzle is that I think it is far too busy and relies increasingly on the expectation that we all want to post pics of ourselves. I’m not too thrilled that if someone tags a pic of me, it automatically appears on my FB page whether I want it to, or not. The issue is that the people who generally do this are folks I have no intention of blocking from my page (close family, as it happens…) which makes it a tricky business. It seems to me that FB have made whole privacy issue quite complicated – and I don’t see the Timeline page making it any easier.

    • fatimasaysell says:

      I agree with this comment. I only have people on my FB friends’ list that I am happy to share stuff with and, of course, I only post material that’s not too personal and I think it is nice and appropriate to share with friends and famly.

  13. Martin Shone says:

    @sjhigbee I agree with your point about the tagging of photos automatically appearing on our pages. If we wanted it on we’ll will put it on there ourself, but as you say if a relative puts it on, it becomes a tricky business :-/

    As with the privacy issue, if you don’t want it seen don’t put it on the internet, but with this new facebook, “personal” stuff can be tagged and is seen by everyone else. Hmmm I’ve only been with facebook about a week or so and I’m not that impressed so far, although I only have about 40 “friends” that I have added, so perhaps it’ll become more interesting as I accumulate more followers, sorry, friends 🙂

    I prefer Twitter 🙂

  14. writeonpublishing says:

    Orfali and you others,
    I used to enjoy Facebooking. I even had fo… Numerous accounts. Then there were so many changes I couldn’t keep up. I never even heard of Timeline, so I can’t comment on that. I can only say that they shouldn’t have changed it at all.
    Currently the only social networks I participate in are directly related to my writing and publishing.
    Thanks for reading my raving!

  15. HopeBetweenTheDreams says:

    IMHO, it gives you MORE control! And I agree with the person who said that you obviously just don’t put anything on there that you wouldn’t want everyone (and anyone) to see. I love the way pictures look & my main picture makes me happy. It just looks so neato!

    FB is an ends to a mean… EVERYONE is on there (yes, including my Gramma!) & so it’s just very easy to get information out to ALL needed contacts ASAP. Especially with my having Lupus & doc appts & updates medically – I don’t have to have the same conversation fifteen dozen times. I announce it there & everyone that I know now knows. YES, I make those entries only accessible to my friends list – so I AM controlling who sees what still!

  16. Eliza Shane says:

    I agree with you about the timeline. I am tempted to shut down my personal facebook account and just keep a page up for my writing persona. The only reason I really keep my facebook is so that i can keep after my teenagers on there! Such scary times we live in…

  17. Robin Hawke says:

    Despite the ease in finding people from one’s past–I’ve not been able to embrace fb. Not really sure why not, but somethow it doesn’t fit right. The timeline only makes it seem worse.

  18. John Phillips says:

    I bailed on Facebook for a couple of weeks recently, but friends forced me to go back on. I did, and I have no idea why. The only thing i post there are links to my blog and don’t contribute anything other than the odd birthday wish. Fact of life, once you are there, it is difficult to cut the cord.

Leave a Reply

