The way children are brought up to be… Todays True Story…

Today, I was so amazed at this little girl who looks about 6 or 7. This little girl and her father get to the cash register to buy food, and without the father telling her to pack up the food into the bags, she started packing it up as the cashier was scanning each item, and she did it all by herself until the cashier was done and when the father was paying for the food, she had already packed everything. it looked to be about 15-20 items.

She even put the bags into the cart. I complimented to her and said you are a very good girl for helping your daddy. She blushed a bit then the father said thank you very much to me for being so observant and so sweet to my little girl. I said to him you are raising your girl very well to take the initiative and doing things without being told. The father told me, thank you very much for making my day a special one. I will never forget that. I appreciate your wonderful comments.

You know these little things are a big difference in how children are brought up to be. You know when well-mannered, good children come from stable, and good families when family values are seen, taught, and absorbed into these children as what I had seen today while patrolling this grocery store.

Raising a child is a very difficult process, but to start absorbing and teaching children from right from wrong from a very early stage before 2 and a bit after 2. That will inhibit the child and the child will learn quickly and be seen doing great things.

I am not saying all children are bad and only the good ones matter, but I am saying that children progress well when parents teach them well.

33 thoughts on “The way children are brought up to be… Todays True Story…

  1. opreach says:

    How nice for you to tell him. It may have been one of those days for him when he wondered if he was really doing a good job. We all have those days, and it’s helpful to get a boost!

    • jpgreenword says:

      I do not have children, but I can imagine that parents are constantly wondering “Am I really doing a good job”. I am a teacher, and even in my position, which is much less critical than that of a parent, I often ask myself that same question.

  2. Ed Ritter says:

    Wonderful to hear that; even better that you saw it directly. I read a WSJ article* over the weekend about the difference between US and French parenting. While I don’t agree that one is better than the other, it is interesting how the French view our parenting styles. I also think we could learn some things from them – especially the patience aspect.

    *http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970204740904577196931457473816.html?KEYWORDS=french+parenting

  3. doubleinvert says:

    I taught my kids how to calculate sales tax on something. At that time, California sales tax was 8.25%. I told them to add 8 cents for every dollar of cost and then another 4 cents for every 4 dollars of cost. It became a game to them.

  4. LunaSunshine says:

    I love hearing stories about well-mannered, well-behaved children. After I had my surgery, many kids volunteered to do things for me that would be difficult (like getting to the upstairs office). I have a few favorites. Teachers lie when they say they don’t have favorites. We just don’t play favorites.

    There is this one sensitive, talented 5th grade boy who is my right hand kid. I can always count on him. And even stranger, he notes my mood swings. Today, I hit a bad one. I just walked into his classroom, and he hardly passed me. “Are you okay? I’m picking up some really negative vibes.” I assured him I was fine. Just a bad day.

    I know he knows. He mentioned to me about a week ago that his mother has bipolar disorder. But, he probably won’t be able to piece it together until he’s already graduated. He’s a sweet kid. It’s nice that he cares so much. I hope he stays sweet.

  5. busymomof03 says:

    That is a very refreshing story. It is really nice to read about children being raised properly. As a parent of three young children I strive daily to set good examples for them and sometimes it is hard to see the fruits of my labor. Reading your post gave me an extra surge of determination to create the type of home that will send out loving, smart, respectful and helpful children into the world. I love reading your posts, they are thoughtful and sincere 🙂

  6. Naomi Baltuck says:

    Hi Talin,
    Parents who don’t have any expectations of good behavior aren’t doing them any favors or preparing them for the real world. We did this by using positive reinforcement as much as possible. We never raised a hand and hardly ever had to raise our voices, but by being consistent and clear and positive, we have two really great kids. Good thoughtful post.

  7. simon7banks says:

    On English canals there’s a lot of “narrow boat” traffic. These are slow-moving pleasure boats probably descended from barges. I saw one chugging along, steered by a boy of, I ‘d guess, maybe ten. He was concentrating fiercely on his job, enjoying it, but determined not to make a mistake.

  8. Missus Tribble says:

    As a young girl I used to feel very grown-up if I was helping to pack the shopping. I also enjoyed peeling potatoes, preparing greens for cooking or storage and washing up!

    I child’s behaviour reflects that of the parent. This father was obviously raised well and with solid family values.

  9. Patrick Dykie says:

    I was at McDonalds a few years ago, when a young boy of about twelve said, “excuse me sir, you dropped some money.” In putting my wallet in my back pocket, two twenties had fallen on the floor. The young man handed them to me, and I handed one back and said, “Thank you; you are an honest young man. Enjoy your lunch.” I would have liked to meet his parents.

  10. willowdot21 says:

    Bringing up children is a very difficult job. So many outside influences, TV , Radio, School, Friends , Film stars, bullies, family members. All anyone can do is their best .Single parents can do just as well as couple it is just doubly as hard! Couples need to make a united stand and stay united even if they do not always agree. I bought up three son with the help of my husband but he was away a great deal while the boys were growing up ( due to work) so I had to be strict and on the ball. The boys are all grown and flown and touch wood all living fulfilled lives with their own homes, partners and jobs. They are all spread around the country but visit us often and ring even more so.
    I find you should should never judge , give people the benefit of the doubt and remember good behaviour while in public does not always mean it has been taught correctly some parents instil a sort of authority over their children by a reign of fear …that is never good. I feel we should always give children the benefit of the doubt.
    That said I worked with disturbed children for many years and I do know that some children are just born mean , not many but some are.

    • fatimasaysell says:

      I agree with what you say about that “some children are just born mean”. I also work in a school where we take students with behavioural problems and sometimes I find it very difficult to accept how cruel human nature can be even at an early age, even though most are kind, thank heavens!

  11. Ruby Tuesday says:

    The thing that I have found in my experience with children is that the majority of them really want to be good, well-mannered, and helpful. Babies and toddlers want to help from the moment they are able. All it takes as a parent or a caregiver is being aware of this desire and encouraging it.

  12. fatimasaysell says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Everyone likes a polite child and that mainly comes from home, even though we do our best in schools too. Sometimes children are so damaged by the time they start school that is very hard for them to accept or learn good manners or anything at all.

  13. Jayne says:

    Thank you for complimenting the parent. Too often parents don’t get praised for doing their jobs right, only gossiped about when they do them wrong. Complimenting the parents goes a long way with the children too! Gives the child a sense of pride.

  14. The Old Heave Ho says:

    I swear I am not trying to pimp my blog but I think my book review post from yesterday would be interesting to you http://socialworkerangela.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/book-review-monday/
    it is a discussion on how we are raised and our parent’s influence but based on relationships. If I am wrong and you aren’t intersted I apologize 😀 Either way love the post and it is amazing to me what a difference we all raise our kids now compared to when myself or my parents are raised. I know I am more of an old school — I’m not your friend until you are adult — menality and I have yet to have had any major issue with my three boys. Thanks for sharing!

    • Missus Tribble says:

      My son is severely autistic and when he was younger his behavioural issues were far worse than they are now (although, at nearly 16, he’s perfectly capable of causing injury to himself and others if he flies into a temper).

      My solution was simple when I couldn’t trust him outdoors around people. I’d wait for my Mum to come home from work and ask her to come over and sit with him if I needed to go to the shops, or I’d go to the shops when he was off at respite care, or I’d go when he was at school. Otherwise I just didn’t go. Simple. Why haven’t parents of unruly children ever thought of this? The mind boggles!

      Given his condition, my son is a well-mannered, affectionate, helpful and quiet young man for the most part. He can’t help his meltdowns obviously, and knowing this is what makes me despair of parents how simply allow their children to grow up undisciplined and lacking in manners.

  15. Jeanine Vecchiarelli says:

    What a great story…and so true, too! Children must be taught these lessons from their earliest years. Let them know that they are valuable, contributing members of their families, and of society in general, and that their decisions have consequences for which they must be accountable, be they good or bad. My husband and I raised ours to be well behaved and responsible right from the start. We are so proud of them today!

  16. freegas00 says:

    I totally agree. I would also like to add that as good guidance is important so is the development of free will and the critical capacity of children so that their creativity and uniqueness can flourish later on.

Leave a Reply

