Armenian School, The experience of a lifetime…

When I was a young girl at the age of 4, I began my journey in St. Sahag St. Mesrob Armenian Saturday School. Often I would complain that I don’t want to go to school on a Saturday, but my parents always said, no you are going, so I ended up going anyway. The bus would pick me up and take me to school. It was at John Ross Robertson Public School and Forest Hill schools in Toronto. During the times when we went to church, I was last to be picked up and first to be dropped off, however if it was at the schools the bus driver would be first to pick me up before 8am and take forever to take me back home. I would get home last after 3pm in the afternoons when school would be over at 1:15. When I was in 8th Grade my brother used to drive me to and from school at John Ross Robertson Public School.. After graduating, they started to have the School at AGBU Toronto on Saturdays.
Having said all of that. I was so lucky and fortunate to have gone to Armenian school to learn the alphabet, writing, reading, history, culture, religious aspects, heritage, and being woken up every Saturday mornings. I have made lots of friends, and lots of memories in that school. I will never forget it. God Bless all the teachers, principals, and staff for giving me the valuable, and wonderful education of my Heritage and Culture and so much more, followed by an awesome trip to Hayasdan/Armenia for 20 days. The best 20 days ever.

I am ever so glad I went!

14 thoughts on “Armenian School, The experience of a lifetime…

  1. orlando gustilo says:

    I”ve been interested in Armenian culture for a long time. It’s that corner in Eastern Europe that somehow most of us don’t know much about. I look forward to reading your other posts on Armenian culture.

  2. robstroud says:

    Preserving our ethnic heritage is important. Especially when we belong to community that has been as persecuted and suppressed as the Armenian people. Their heroic survival is a testimony to their courage and the strength they derive from their Christian faith!

Leave a Reply

