My Motherland & Beautiful Armenia

Today, I am going to talk to you about My Motherland and Beautiful Armenia.  Armenia is located between Europe and Asia. We have an incredible history of people and things. Our Alphabet has 38 letters and it was invented by one of our great inventors Mesrob Mashtotz (MES-ROB, MASH-TOTZ). We have a library called Madenataran and our important books of history are kept there and a statue of our Mesrob Mashtotz is just outside. Our very first Pontiff/Pope of Armenia was St Gregory the Illuminator, in Armenian we say (Sourp Krikor Lousavorich). He was falsely imprisoned in a hole for 13 years under this church called Khor Virab (KHO-R VEERAB), and from this Church Monastery you can see the Mount Ararat which was once Armenia’s Property and I still think to this day it is still ours. It is where the Noah’s Arc came to rest. Mount Ararat was stolen from Armenia and it’s lands from the Turkish Government. in April 24, 1915, The Armenian Genocide happened and 1.5 Million Armenians were killed and massacred by the Turkish Ottoman Empire, and which they stole our lands and property. Since then we have commemorated and paid our respects to those brutally murdered in Armenian Communities around the world. In Armenia we have the Armenian Genocide Memorial, and its called Dzidzernagapert (D-ZID-ZER-NAGA-PERT). Every year on April 24th, All of Armenia’s Schools, Workplaces would be closed and everyone would go to the Memorial to place flowers all around the Eternal Flame which has never stopped. The Turkish government still fails to recognize their crimes against Armenia and its been an on-going struggle for the Armenians, but we sure will not give up and we will continue to protest every year until justice is served for our people who’s lives we lost. I have friends whose families in the past have been through the Genocide. There are still Survivors to this day, but Very few left in the world. Armenia’s Capital city is Yerevan. It is located in the heart of Armenia.

Our Armenia flag has 3 colours, Red, Blue and Orange. Armenia has so many different types of produce and food. Armenia’s national fruit is the Apricot (Dziran) (D-ZEE-RAN), and as well as the Pomegranate. We also have the freshest Cherries, Grapes and Watermelons.  Armenia has a beautiful lake called Sevan. I remember going there a couple of times, to swim and take in the beauty of Armenia. We have incredible monasteries and churches such as St Etchmiadzin, St Mary, Haghardzin, St Hripsime, Garni, Geghard, Saghmosavank, and so much more. We have incredible Cafes, and restaurants, we have incredible fashion stores, Armenian Cognac and different types of Liquor Factories, Kotayk Beer, Coca Cola Bottles written in Armenian letters, Wonderful tasting Ice creams. Armenia is beyond rich in History.

When I was a child., I began to learn a lot about my culture, heritage, history, Alphabet, to learn how to speak it, to read and write Armenian, my parents sent me to Armenian Saturday School. When I graduated grade 8 in 1999, and it was the first year from the Armenian Saturday school trip that we embarked on a trip to our Motherland Armenia on July 21st, 1999. We flew with Air Canada to Paris, France Charles De Gaule Airport, where we toured Paris for a good 10 hours, then we headed back to the Airport to take Armenian Airlines (Which is now Armavia) right to our Motherland Armenia. I will never forget the feeling when I landed on Armenia’s Soil. I kissed the ground and I felt so different being there. All around me are Armenian Letters, Armenian Speaking people, and everything I learned in school came right before my eyes. It was an incredible journey and experience of a lifetime and I will never forget it. At times when I was in Armenia, I felt very homesick with my first time taking a trip without my parents as beforehand all the traveling was done with my parents. My cousins also had come with me and it was a great experience. To this day, I still remember everything so fresh in my mind ,and everything was incredible. After Armenia, we took Armenian Airlines to Frankfurt Germany, where we were there for 6 hours. Then we flew Lufthansa back to Toronto, Canada where our families were waiting anxiously for us in the waiting area of the Airport.

I had arrived to Toronto, but my luggage was left behind in Germany. I had so many things and souvenirs I had packed in my luggage and I got so upset. About a few days later, my luggage was found and later brought back to Toronto on another flight. All my things were safe and nothing was broken thankfully because I had packed them very well and I had already become an experienced and good packer. I have kept my boarding passes, tickets and everything from my Armenia trip and I have created a Special Armenia box with everything in it. Later then I began to join Armenian clubs, youth committees and trying to do everything I can to keep my Heritage alive and to this day, I still do. I love being Armenian and I am a proud to be one. If you have the chance and if your making travel plans, make sure Armenia is on your list. In terms of getting a visitors Visa, you can get it right from Armenia’s Airport called Zvartnotz. You do not need any special vaccinations, shots to enter Armenia. It is very safe and clean. Armenia people are so friendly and helpful and they will accomodate your every need.. Visit Armenia. Its beautiful. for more information and if you want to know more, search the internet and you will find photos, history, background and so much more.

Shunoragalem (SHEN-ORA-GAL-EM) in Armenian means Thank you.

56 thoughts on “My Motherland & Beautiful Armenia

    • Naomi Baltuck says:

      Hi Talin, it is really interesting to read about your homeland, and it means much more coming from you than it would from a guidebook. my family travels, and your post makes me very curious about Armenia.

  1. Elyas Mulu Kiros says:

    Hey Talin,

    An awesome post on your motherland! 🙂 I don’t know if you are aware of the history of Armenian Ethiopians, if not, here is a piece of info for you: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethiopian_Armenians 🙂 Most of the Armenians have migrated to the US, especially after the fall of the Imperial Government. But there are still some that live there, and they are as Ethiopian as anybody else just as they are Armenians. 🙂

    Once I met this Armenian in the NYC subway. Before he told me he is Armenian, he just greeted me in Amharic, Ethiopia’s official language, and I was surprised because I didn’t expect that, he obviously didn’t look the typical Ethiopian to me lol … let alone speak my language, most foreigners mistaken me for a Jamaican or Indian lol … But he right away knew I was Ethiopian, and was comfortable to say things in Amharic. He then told me that he is Armenian, but born and raised in Ethiopia, and migrated to the US at young age with his family; that resolved my surprise. 😀 After that were laughing and talking in the train as if we knew each other for so long.

    It was nice meeting someone like him out of the blue in the busiest subway in the world. 😉 I would have never dreamed it. 🙂 I knew the history of Armenians in Ethiopia before, but meeting him solidified that fact for me.

    Cheers,

  2. leilanathanielLeila says:

    Talin, this sounds like it was a life-changing journey. I am so happy that you were able to make this trip to see your home-country, and especially, to be able to fall in love with your origins again!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. bibuji says:

    Your post reminded me of another sad (and uncleared) history in our eastern Asia. I still cannot find best words to give you…but my best wishes and full of love to you and your country.

  4. rose bugler says:

    I expect the Canadian and Armenian winters both are pretty chilly so you will have a feel for how cold our boy is going to feel when he jumps in that Lake on New Years Day. http://www.owensbigchill.com

    I think perhaps we should plan to have some Talin’s Chicken Marinade doing its magic in the fridge while we are out, for us to come home to.

    But do you have any vegetarian dishes for Owen? I remember I used to have an amazing Armenian cookery book, but don’t quite know where it is right now. So an Armenian “vegie”dish would be much appreciated, Talin.

  5. Lone Grey Squirrel says:

    I enjoyed learning more about Armenia and the Armenian people. I hope that Turkey and the rest of the world will give recognition to the victims of the Armenian genocide some day soon. Such a tragedy is a tragedy to all humanity. I applaud you for helping to keep your rich culture alive and growing.

  6. Red says:

    I have an Armenian uncle and he takes his wife and children home regularly. It is good to see someone proud of their heritage and homeland.
    Cheers,
    Red.

  7. maureenlermer says:

    Oh dear memories, it seems like we are all mass exodus… from one country to another, brings back my own memories… Wonderful Talin, i love the way you bring it out for us to read…

  8. Dana says:

    Just discovered your blog recently. I think Armenia’s history is like Japan’s atomic bomb and China’s Nanking, or US’s Pearl Harbor. No country has a bloodless history.

  9. Brendano says:

    Hi Talin. Thank you for following my blog … I’m glad you like it. This is an interesting post, and it’s great that you take such pride in your background and heritage.

    Have you heard of a band called System of a Down? They are all of Armenian descent too. My son used to listen to them a lot, and there is a big Armenian influence in their music, as far as I know.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/System_of_a_Down

  10. SenoraG says:

    That was a very interesting post. I love learning about other countries and the different cultures. I would love to visit someday. Shunoragalem for sharing and for visiting me yesterday. I am following back! Enjoy the weekend

  11. reclaiming ryan says:

    You aren’t the first person that I have heard talk of their love of Armenia, but this is probably the most passionate account that I have read. It sounds wonderful and I would love to visit.

  12. simon7banks says:

    I know that the Armenians are a very ancient people – that is, an Armenian identity existed when Rome was still a republic and no doubt long before, and Armenians have kept that identity when nearly all the other peoples of that era in the Middle East and Eastern Mediterranean no longer exist as such, and that probably their origins include the Hittites whose empire fought with the ancient Egyptians. I admire Armenian courage and resilience.

  13. Rhea Christopher says:

    OMGOSH YOU’RE ARMENIAN! i was going to comment and say thank you for liking so many of my poems but my stepmums armenian and i feel more armenian than greek! (i’m greek) i’ve probably got armenian in me anyway 😛 LONG LIVE HAYASTAN!!!

  14. kianys says:

    I loved hearing about Armenia – thank you so much for sharing

    It’s weird: I live in Europe and still have not seen a lot of this great continent and the countries that border on it – I have to admit, I really didn’t know anything about Armenia before reading your post – so eventhough I might not know a lot about it now – at least I have a better notion about what it is and what it stands for

    I always enjoy reading about peoples homes

    Thank you 😉

  15. Rhey says:

    wow. that’s really informative. I didnt know much about Armenia but since reading this blog post, might be a nice place to visit. 🙂 thanks!

  16. baptistmama says:

    Talin, Thanks for following my blog. I was pleased to find out you are Armenian! My 17 and 18 year old son and daughter who have been home schooled their entire lives (I say this to let you know they don’t have a large circle of aquaintances) have recently becomes friends with a lovely Armenian family whose children are involved in 4-H leadership. Your’s is a succinct lesson in Armenian History.
    Thank you! I look forward to getting to know you better.
    Lawana McGuffey

  17. elainecougler says:

    Hi Talin
    I love to read things from authentic people and your post certainly rings true. Thank you for following my blog–I am so glad I found you through that and will check back with yours often.
    Your love for your homeland is admirable and beautifully described. Thank you for sharing.

  18. terriblytorn13 says:

    Very interesting stuff. I am a quarter Armenian and don’t know much about the culture. I love hearing about Armenia most people I’ve met of Armenian decent are very passionate about their heritage.

  19. natasha devalia says:

    Touching post! My husband is Lebanese and I lived there with him for a few years. I met a number of Armenian people there. All very interesting, and many talented artists. And then I watched the movie Ararat when I was in Canada. Anyway, very interesting story. Look forward to more.

  20. eof737 says:

    TY for sharing your story. As an immigrant myself, it’s always touching to read how others ended up in their new countries… Each story is always somewhat different. 🙂

  21. t.i.n.a. says:

    Fabulous story! One of my closest childhood friends is from Armenia! 🙂 I will say “maraming salamat” (“thank you very much” in my language) for sharing it!

  22. Vincent Clarke says:

    I would say “maraming salamat” (thank you very much) too for sharing this. I’ve always wanted to go to Armenia. I don’t know much, but I know enough to know its very interesting. I’m from LA, but my parents’ roots are mixed: German, American, Filipino, and Spanish. I would like to sum up all the adjectives to describe the country I claim as my motherland, The Philippines. “Mabuhay” (Long live)! 😉

Leave a Reply

