Talin’s Vegatable Whole Wheat Spaghetti

They say that you shouldn’t eat pasta that much and that it is bad for you, but really it isn’t. Pasta is very nutritious for you and we always hear that pasta makes us super fat, well, its not always the case. I myself love pasta and I can eat it day in and day out. I try to make one or two pasta dinners a week whatever it is such as Penne Rigate, Orzo, Tagliatelle, Bucatini, Rigatoni, Regular Spaghetti. Now there is this Barilla Commercial that shows in Ontario of this lady cooking pasta and she is not satisfied with her brand of Pasta, so this good looking guy who is her neighborย sees her cooking and knocks on her door to give her Barilla Pasta and he doesn’t stay at the door and then the guy sees her enjoy her guests and he looks on and smiles and she smiles. Its so awesome. How come it never happens to me? ๐Ÿ™‚ I should get Barilla lets see if that will do anything for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, enough of that, here is my Vegatable Whole Wheat Spaghetti.

Ingredients Required

Whole Wheat Spaghetti 375 G or 450 G — It can serve about 3 to 4 people.

Oregano/Basil/Salt/

4 Garlic Cloves

3-4 table spoons of Tomato Paste – Make sure you fill up well.

2 Red Onions Diced, Green Peppers Diced, Portobello or Regular Mushrooms, Red Peppers Diced — You choose the amount you like of each ingredient.

To Start

With 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil in a non-stick pan or deep wok, cook the Red Onions, then after it has cooked slightly put the Oregano, Basil, and 1 or 2 teaspoons of salt, then put in the 4 cloves of garlic mashed, then you get the tomato paste and mix it around andย put some water but make sure not a lot of water.ย after that cooks together put in your vegatables. Let it cook for about 10 minutes. As that is cooking

put about 4-5 cups or more of Water in a separate pasta cooker —let the pasta water boil with the Salt and Olive Oil. — It is important to let the water BOIL First before putting in theย Whole Wheat Spaghetti.

Now when the water has boiled, put in the ย Whole Wheat spaghetti. Becareful while doing so.ย  Let it cook for a good 10 to 11 minutes on medium high.

To finish

After Mix the Sauce you cooked with the Spaghetti and Serve instantly.

BON APETIT!

62 thoughts on “Talin’s Vegatable Whole Wheat Spaghetti

    • Adi says:

      It’s usually not what you eat, but how MUCH you eat. 1 serving of pasta is only 1/2 a cup!
      Since I can’t control myself and I work in an industrial bakery (so my day is filled with muffins/baguettes/croissants, etc) I try to avoid all forms of after-work carbs. Not sure if I can keep it up though, this post is making me miss pasta…

  1. A. L. Brakebill says:

    Whole wheat pasta can be a great way to get whole grains and is naturally high in protein. One of the reasons pasta has such a bad rap is Americans over-sauce their pasta and don’t control their portions. This looks like a wonderful, balanced dish and I may have to try it soon.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Wow! This sounds like a very easy recipe that I could handle. (I totally fail at cooking, trust me.)
    Going out to buy the ingredients tomorrow…thanks! Er, wish me luck when I start to cook…:)

  3. letters from val says:

    I love past too, and eat it about four or times a week. It’s not fattening, and is super delicious. Thanks for the recipe! (Great blog).

  4. veehcirra says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I do love pasta though I didn’t eat quite often am more into my local diet “chapatis” you should try them, they are to die for, almost like the Indian “naans”. Lovely blog too!

  5. thepiratehorizon says:

    ciao you there ๐Ÿ˜‰ i agree on you of course on the absurdity of the relation between pasta and fatness. the mediterranean diet has been now in the unesco’ world intangible heritage list since november, which makes us italians proud.
    barilla is not the best for quality, but i know it’s the most common to find in the world, and at an accessible price. it’s good, anyway. so i hope some nice neighbor knocks on your door with a pack of better pasta some day, and looks and smiles run across the table as you enjoy the recipe you showed here.
    ciao – and thanx for coming by my place

  6. jeg700 says:

    Love pasta! Whole wheat or not, I eat pasta frequently. It is filling, nourishing and just plain old tasty:) I have never been able to eat a giant plate of pasta nor I have ever been able to eat bread with the pasta dish because it is SO filling. Who wants to fill up on bread and not eat all the delicious pasta? LOL
    Yummy.

  7. Susan Shay says:

    I’m not too wild about anything to eat that tickles on the way down. Coconut and whole wheat pasta are two of those things. A friend showed me that the very thin pasta (maiden hair) is pretty good. Sometimes I mix it with “normal” pasta.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog and liking my blog today. It was a difficult one to write.

    • rialto-now says:

      Talin this is very intresting love it. Im so glad you came by and followed my blog http://www.rialtonow.wordpress.com if not I would have never found yours. I own a marketing firm and will be rolling out a clients gluten free cook book Ill keep you and your readers posted on it and its results. Also as she prepares the dishes we will be holding tastings with selected followers of the cook book as well as stream the tasting live over the net.

  8. supernaut says:

    Hey sounds very tasty – but somewhere whenever I’ve tried to cook whole wheat pasta, I’ve never liked it.. So I am a bit scared to try this one out.

    Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad that you enjoyed my blog!

  9. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro - Prague says:

    I just cooked the worst dinner I have ever cooked in my life. Now I am reading this and I am salivating at the mouth! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Jayne says:

    Always on the look out for new recipes! Thanks for sharing. Oh, I lost you as a subscriber when I switched over. So sorry this happened. out of my hands. Hope you will come back to His Heart and Home. Miss you!

  11. rialto-now says:

    Talin this is very intresting love it. Im so glad you came by and followed my blog http://www.rialtonow.wordpress.com if not I would have never found yours. I own a marketing firm and will be rolling out a clients gluten free cook book Ill keep you and your readers posted on it and its results. Also as she prepares the dishes we will be holding tastings with selected followers of the cook book as well as stream the tasting live over the net.

  12. Tribble Wife says:

    I adore pasta – but I’m big on carbs when I’m active because otherwise I gain 7lbs and lose 14lbs two days later! I’ve always had that kind of metabolism where the weight refuses to stay on unless I eat loads of potatoes, pasta and rice (not that I’m complaining because they’re amongst my favourite staples).

    I hope you don’t mind if I print this out; it sounds like such a lovely alternative when you don’t fancy meat (and the husband can’t stand Quorn).

  13. Stefanie Rose says:

    I am in love with all the pasta fans ๐Ÿ™‚ I adore pasta, it can be as easy or as intricate as you want to make it (or have time for), and always tasty. The trick with pasta is portion control, as carbs make you crave more. The rule is 100 grams per person, and once you measure it out and boil it, you won’t be tempted to go back and make more pasta once your plate is empty. That’s how the Italians get away with eating it so often!

    Thanks for the pro-pasta post!

  14. Sue Swift/Suz deMello says:

    I adore pasta and like you can eat it every day. But I have found that tomato paste can have a bit of a bite, and when I use it I add a little sprinkle of sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. rastelly says:

    Pasta is probably no worse
    for you then bread. It’s what
    you put on it that can be an
    issue. It all this akins stuff. I
    hear that while the Atkins diet
    can keep you skinny – it does
    not necessarily make you
    healthy. Carbs have been a
    staple in the human diet for
    millenia – bread and noodles
    have sustained rich and poor
    in cultures all over the world. ๐Ÿ˜€
    you skinny

    • Tribble Wife says:

      My mother was on the Atkins diet for years. Not only did it make her breath and her sweat smell, but it didn’t make her lose any weight either (not that she even needed to – she didn’t).

      I wish that diet had never been invented. Carbs, as you so rightly point out, are so important to the human body!

  16. emariaenterprises says:

    LOL…. My thirtieth blog post was about a speedy spaghetti recipe… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your’s looks really good too. Yummm…Basil……
    And whole wheat spaghetti… Yes!

    Pasta, is not a bad thing if your thyroid is functioning properly. Spread the virtues of Iodized salt.
    Too many people don’t know that they need the trace iodine that was Mandated to be added to it for the benefit of those foods that do Not have any trace iodine in them.
    Only southern grown foods have naturally occurring iodine in it. Northern grown foods don’t have Any. Your Thyroid won’t function without a little bit of iodine.

  17. Elle says:

    This is great! Pasta is a hit in my house so this is nice and simple. Whole wheat is healthy and we like that. You’re a gem, merci beaucoup!

Leave a Reply

