You Are Special! Never Forget it!

In recent years due to the uncertainty and all the negativity, hopeless attitudesΒ that is filled in this society we often forget how special and how incredible each and everyone of us are. We are all unique in our own little ways. Why don’t people just think of the qualities they have rather than bashing ourselves and degrading ourselves to an all time low? It is very easy to get out of context and insult ourselves. I have seen that happen in so many ways. I attend a bible study and tonight it was no surprise to me that a friend of mine came up to me and said that Oh I don’t think I am good at it, and putting that persons self down. I had to intervene and I had to stop him in his tracks and say hey were all special and we all have something or somethings were good at only if we discover ourselves.

A few blog posts ago, I spoke about the same type of thing, but You are your own enemy if you bring yourself down and you start hating yourself and you shouldn’t. Love yourself, get to know your capabilities, get to know your habits a lot more. It is really interesting what you might find.

So readers, I am going to give you a mini assignment, and I want this assignment to benefit you and your life. You are not doing this for me, or for anybody else, you are doing it for you. Now, I want you to take out a paper and a pen or pencil or whatever and I want you to write 10 things great and special about you, then it is totally up to you if you want to share it with me or keep it confidential to yourself. Now that paper that you wrote those 10 good things about you, post them somewhere visible in your room, kitchen, fridge door, wherever you are mostly in your home and keep reading them, then use those good things in your life. I guarantee you, that your life will change, and if you say you do not have anything to write or good to say about yourself, that is a huge lie. You are lying to yourself, and you do not want to do that. So the moral of this story is you are special and you are someone who has good qualities.

There is no due date on the assignment. take your time, spare time for you and you will see. It works wonders.

SO REPEAT AFTER ME — I AM SPECIAL, I AM CAPABLE, I AM UNIQUE LIKE NO OTHER, I LOVE MYSELF, AND I WILL NOT PUT MYSELF DOWN AGAIN!

YOU ARE SPECIAL YOU ARE SPECIAL YOU ARE SPECIAL YOU ARE SPECIAL!

74 thoughts on “You Are Special! Never Forget it!

  1. happytruelife says:

    Because the creative power in us doesn’t see “NOT” I would just change the negative I WILL NOT PUT MYSELF DOWN AGAIN for maybe something like I WILL SEE ONLY GOOD IN ME πŸ˜‰
    Gaselle

  2. inspectorshmi says:

    I almost cried for some reason I didn’t really know when I read this. And I really do need to treat myself better! We all do!

  3. theflyingpenwriter says:

    So important and very inspirational! Thank you for a great reminder. We tend to see ourselves with all our weaknesses when if we look at the positive things about us we realize we are great the way we are!!

  4. John says:

    Talin,
    It is always heartwarming to read positive, well-intentioned and responsible writers. Anyone with a self-worth crisis can benefit from taking your words to heart. Keep your eyes open, your chin up and your attitude positive and others will follow your lead.
    Sincerely, john

  5. learningtobehis says:

    so true and such a good idea, I’ll have to have a go at this and put what I come up with on my blog.

    ps thank’s for visiting me earlier and becoming my first follower and liker πŸ™‚

  6. ariefiandy.richard says:

    I am special! And so are you! And let’s focus on the good stuff, and be happy for no (particular external) reason πŸ™‚

  7. Muthe says:

    Everybody is special, we can always encourage people, but most of the time we forget to appreciate ourselves. I am going to try to do the assignment, though to be honest, I’ve tried and it is always hard for me to write something good about myself. Like i don’t believe what I write. On the other hand, despite of that, I know that I am special, that I am capable and all thing. It’s contradictory indeed but I think it’s a long process for me.

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful article with us ^^

  8. Cristal DuBois says:

    And doesn’t it appear we’re putting down the One who created us when we put ourselves down? It’s as if I’m saying God didn’t do a good job or that He messed up when He made me. Maybe if I’d realize I am precious in His sight, I’d live the life God created me to live. πŸ™‚

  9. Ally Bean says:

    First, thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to meet you.

    Second, I like your idea of listing 10 good things about myself and keeping it handy for when despair attempts to set in. I’ll start working on my list over the weekend when my mind is clearer. Doubt if I’ll post it, but I’ll keep it at hand.

  10. Tim Smith says:

    Thank you for the amazing words, I read with great joy how special we all are, I could not agree with you more, We, as a nation have lost that, I believe with all the negativity that surrounds us everyday, Break free of the chains that bind you, break free from the constant bashing of those around you and expecially of your self., Always remember, think negative thought we become negative, think positive thoughts we become positive, Thoughts are as real as anything else.
    Thank you again, Well Done

  11. Jayne says:

    Great post! We all beat ourselves up from time to time. ok Here are a few things I like about myself 1) I can improvise well. I see something I like and can make it my own. 2) I can sing 3) I like my curly hair 4) I am wonderfully made 5) I am fearfully made 6) I am loved enough to die for 7) I’m discovering that I can write well 8) Because Christ forgave me, I can forgive myself 9) I’m crafty in that I’m good at doing crafts 10) I like being tall. and not necessarily in that order. lol

  12. Jayne says:

    What a great post! We all get down on ourselves from time to time. We need to remember that we are wonderfully and fearfully made. We are loved enough to die for.

  13. chelseavose says:

    wow, that is amazing and speaks especially to me. I have been having a hard time this week and reading your blog definitely shows that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Thank you! I cant wait to write my 10 things!!!

  14. Jackie Blair McSween says:

    I love this post! Your passion is contagious! We all need to work hard at challenging ourselves to see and embrace all our strengths, abilities and wants. The idea of a specific daily task is great, kind of like flossing your teeth – we know it’s good for us, but don’t get around to it sometimes.
    Thank you for following my blog and I really look forward to following yours.
    Jackie

  15. shupec says:

    This is very much like Affirmations and Creative Visualization by ?? Gawain – “shiakai” (spelling)… I ‘discovered’ her first book when in late high school, early college years, and last holidays was pleasantly surprised when my mother bought me hard bound set of her most recent editions. I’ve been bad and barely cracked them open, but with your most recent posting will MAKE myself make the time in the morning, rather than watching DVR recorded television shows (smile). Inter-flection is the only way towards the Light, not ‘external’ reflections… Keep doing what yer doen, for all of us! (smile).

  16. Krystle K. says:

    Hi Talin! Thanks so much for liking my blog post! It’s great to see your passion and positivity, and it looks like you’re inspiring a lot of readers to value themselves! Keep up the good work and God bless =)

  17. commemoryfineart says:

    Thank you for liking my post and following my blog (and making me feel special with this blog post). There’s nothing like encouragement and positivity to keep a spirit alive, happy and move forward.

  18. Whimsical KT says:

    Awe, I love this post! You are very inspiring! Thank you! Its so hard sometimes to see the beauty within ourselves and it is so refreshing to read a post like this! πŸ™‚ You made me smile!!!

  19. StephBristow says:

    Quite right! I often have to stop myself from from destroying any chances I have of success for a project or task, because before I even start I feel as if its already decided I’ll fail because I’m no good at anything. Taking part in your assignment I’m sure will work wonders! πŸ™‚ Ta for the dose of self esteem xx x

  20. Nicole Frommel says:

    I love your sweet and oh so important reminder. This is very inspiring. I think it is so important to learn to focus on the positive in life because focusing on the negative tends to bring more negative.Thanks for the words of inspiration.

  21. Glendorachick says:

    Hi how are you just wanted to say I loved the post. I think we as people sometimes put ourselves down a little to much. I started a while ago telling myself that I’m special. No one can put me down because I know my self worth. I was often put down as a child as you could imagine the impact that it had. But at the end of it all it made me stronger. So to you as well your special but not because i’m saying it but just because you are.

  22. yhosby says:

    I really like this blog post; my motto has been “Express Your Individuality” since elementary school, so I agree with this entire post.

    I am special because I’m creative, quirky, shy, and analytical.

    Keep smilng,
    Yawatta Hosby

  23. StarGazer says:

    Well said. But what about those who continuously have that attitude? are they liars…? No. People who think themselves as something so low are mostly people who strive for attention. They feel miserable with their lives and they envy deeply (not those who are happy) but happiness itself. I have friends that constantly say that kind of things or act like they don’t even deserve a smile from someone else and that makes me angry. That’s how I feel about it. As for those 10 things… I’m not sure I can find only 10! I love myself WAY too much!!! LoL πŸ˜›
    p.s.: Thank you so much for following my little ribbon! πŸ™‚

  24. Wayne says:

    Reblogged this on luvsiesous and commented:
    Well, Talin, I took your challenge.

    I am special because, I am loved, I am healthier than many, I am intelligent, I write, I love to travel, I wear glasses, I read, I speak several languages, and I love others ….

    How did I do?

    Wayne

  25. sebssen says:

    Oh very nice post. Very inspirational, I love it.
    I actually have made such a lift 1,5 month ago, it really makes you focus on what are good at instead of just thinking about things you don’t like about yourself or aren’t good at.

    Such a list, or just a thourght about the good things about yourself, can change the whole day.

    Nice post, makes me in such a good mood!

    http://evolvingstrength.blogspot.com/

  26. wall stickers says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to find someone with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is something that’s wanted on the web, somebody with a little originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

Leave a Reply

