Doing Good Deeds For People

Have you been on Public Transportation? Have you witnessed disrespectful people in public facilities in Malls, on our streets, in our cafes and restaurants? Have you seen such horrible acts take place on others? Has doing good deeds and respecting other people become rare? It is not right to disrespect people and treat others in a disorderly fashion. I have seen many people being disrespected and tormented in public and it is ridiculous.

Let me begin to tell you a story. This was around 7-8 years ago when I last took public transportation to come home from school, I saw these teenagers like myself at that time and I was standing on the bus, and I saw this very pregnant lady get on the bus and these teenagers would just be sitting down and saw this lady come up, none of them moved which got me so angry and I went up to these people and I said, Hi I guess you didn’t this pregnant lady get on the bus. I said maybe you should let her have a seat. Its out of respect. For a moment I thought oh boy I am going to be beat up or I am going to be insulted by these teens, but surprisingly it all went well and the pregnant lady said thank you to me, that I didn’t have to do that. I said, well, someone has got to teach these people some respect and to do good deeds. She then said thank you again and smiled. Her stop came 2 stops before mine and she looked back at me and smiled before she left the bus.

Another story, when I went to a mall several times, I have held the door for people to get into the mall and some wouldn’t say thank you, and so I said OH YOUR WELCOME in response to their silence. I get so angry when I see people that they know there are people behind them trying to get inside the mall and they shut the door right on their faces. Its happened to me before and it is not pleasant at all.

What angers me the most are these young people who disrespect the elderly. Again with the bus situation or on the Subway, you see an elderly person walking with a cane, or just plain seeing an elderly person, I see these perfectly young teens who are perfectly healthy, they don’t even budge to let them sit down. It is terrible. So I let this elderly couple sit down.

Doing good deeds and respecting people is a great thing, and people will appreciate you for it. It is all in the matter of the upbringing of these teenagers and it comes from the home setting first, Teaching our children and our teenagers to respect others, to do good things for others, and to give a helping hand is very important. It makes life go by nicer and people will never forget how you made them feel. Teach your children the good qualities, teach your children to do good, teach your children to respect others. If children do not learn these things from a younger age, then in future it will not be so good. Children are influenced by their families and siblings first than anything else, then it starts from the schools they attend. be a good example and role model. I am not just talking about children, I am talking about people in general… This world would be a friendlier place.

DO GOOD DEEDS, MAKE A PERSONS DAY, RESPECT TO BE RESPECTED.

35 thoughts on “Doing Good Deeds For People

  1. willowdot21 says:

    I have always tried to say and mean, please and thank you, hold open doors help young mum’s with pushchairs and prams as I have been there and know how hard it can be. I used to give up my seat often. Now , due to an accident I walk with a walking stick ( cane) I find no one makes way for me on narrow pavements, no one offers me a seat. Some how politeness has skipped a whole generation. The way I see some young parents “dragging up” their children I despair. Sorry for the rant I am not a bad tempered old lady but I am sad and fearful for the future. If there is no respect what will happen next?

  2. Martin Shone says:

    The best good deed, is a smile and a thank you. The world would be a better place. I opened a door for someone at work who had lost their key – no thank you just marched on through, I called after him, Thank You would have been nice, he didn’t turn or acknowledge just marched on through, grrr!

  3. charcoop says:

    Thanks for following my cooking blog. I am reading a book, that, after reading your blog, think you would enjoy. It’s called “A Circle of Quiet” by Madeleine L ‘Engle. If you read it, you will find many of life’s lessons expressed in a beautiful way, along with great tips for writers.

  4. Ann Boyle says:

    I hate rudeness – there is no excuse for it at all. I firmly believe in saying please and thank you and smiling at people. I’m my opinion there is not enough of it around these days. I always brought up my girls to be poliet and proud of them for it too

  5. C. Stace says:

    last week in the uk a women on a tram was filmed by another passager, being racist to other people. She was holding a child. it is truly an awful thing to watch. news today is she has been arrested.

  6. Elisa says:

    While I agree that some teens are losing their respect (or never had it to begin with) I think it’s unfair that a lot of people go around with the assumption that our generation has no respect. I’m in my early 20s but get confused for a teenager, and oftentimes middle-age and the elderly just assume I have no respect or am just like the rest even though I always hold doors open, give up my seat on the bus, smile at baristas, etc. Just a few weeks ago I was on the subway (standing) and a 40-something woman made this very comment about how young people have no respect and how the woman next to her must completely abhor her job because she works with university students and how awful we must be. And then she looked straight at me. I’m sorry that the majority of youth don’t have as much respect as you think they used to, but that’s no excuse to just rain on everyone’s parade because you’re assuming we’re all bad. Same thing happened when I was a teen and adults would say my kilt was too short (even though it was the longest of anyone’s on the bus), how my schoolbag was too large (even though it’s a sign I’m studying hard and I kept it on the floor) or that I have too many piercings in my ears (I don’t see how that hurts anybody).

    I guess my bottom line is I agree, people should show more respect and be courteous, but don’t just assume that it’s only the young people who don’t have respect. I’ve been pushed out of the way during rush hour so that someone older than me can squeeze onto a subway even though I’d been waiting longer. We should all just be nicer.

  7. http://lifeintheboomerlane.com says:

    Post like this are important. Each day, we all have the ability to be role models for common decency. Especially at this time of year, when many people are stressed, we see more unacceptable behavior. We need to speak up. I now speak up when, in a store, a cashier will open a new register and someone way back in a line will rush forward. And, as Elisa noted, disrespect runs across age lines. I watch as three, four, or five people will continue to drive at normal speeds through red lights, because stopping might make them 30 seconds later coming home from work. They don’t care that they are using up the entire green light for people who are trying to make a turn. It goes on and on.

  8. Mother, Beader and Coffee Lover says:

    Firstly, thanks for following my blog, it is appreciated. 🙂
    But I wanted to write on here, that so many people have little respect for others in just the simplest ways. Like holding doors open and moving seats on the bus. I (and hubby) have been and am still are teaching my sons the gentle art of respect and consideration for others.
    Something happened to me on the bus yesterday. A mutual agreement of help… but I’m pretty sure he felt as good as I did about it. I was told “I’ll give you a free ride ($10AUD saving here) if you help me with directions….. first time I’ve driven this route…” I was more than happy to oblige and we had a wonderful conversation over the next hour to the city. I could have said, no, stuff you, but I find that, (especially with call centres ringing) although we may not appreciate what they’re doing, I am always nice. They are just doing their job.

  9. Dalai Lina says:

    Parents need to teach their kids these skills. I know it is easy to think, shame on the kids…but really, it is just as much the parents responsibility to teach them how to act!

  10. nenskei says:

    How So inspiring post talin 🙂
    Indeed, today, the word RESPECT is been murder. People supposed to use on how the word itself defined but then it reversely defined as time goes by.

  11. Ron says:

    First of all, thanks for the hello. Common courtesy, yes I could talk about that too. It used to bother me a lot riding the Toronto transit and seeing able bodied young people hogging the front seat. I have found that random good deeds are contagious, and good things happen back in return.

    I can’t totally single out younger people, but when they’re in groups the pack mentality takes hold and they can be rude or just oblivious.

  12. Just A Smidgen says:

    Agreed… I often rush ahead, I know they think I am barging to get in front, but then I open the door for them to let them in ahead of me… I love their surprised looks and appreciation… especially in the elderly. All the more rewarding because it happens so rarely these days…

  13. TM says:

    What a timely post. My husband and I discuss this very issue all the time. I learned recently the current generation is called the “Generation of Entitlement “, so glad I missed being part of that. We work really hard to teach our son to be polite, to use his manners, to be helpful. Hopefully parents like is will raise a not selfish generation.

  14. pstok says:

    I believe this issue gives Christians a way of being different. If those who professed Christ, spoke differently, behaved graciously and loved the other first as the great commandment encourages us to, people would take notice and say,”I want what they have.” But too often Christians are just as bad as the rest.

  15. mishashannon says:

    While I was on the streetcar today, during a regular stop, I heard a rash of honks from a minivan as a large group of exiting passengers made for the side of the road. I thought perhaps the driver was unjustly angry at someone for being on the street. I know- how strange that people should have to cross the street to get to the side! After the honk however, I hear the driver, a young man, yell “Hey Lady! You dropped your watch!” He then left his vehicle, door ajar, and ran to pick up and deliver the watch to her. Everyone who had just left the street car was smiling. I couldn’t believe it. I could see that the watch had only one of its bands so perhaps it’s value was merely sentimental, if at all. But wow… a young man willing to retrieve a simply watch for a stranger. Good deeds, they can blow hope into deflated hearts.

  16. janrssor says:

    The decline of western society, that hopefully we can avoid, begins with the simple loss of respect for others. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you,” is the basis of how a society grows, prospers and creates joy. Your observation of simple courtesy, could it become a passion for all, could change the world in a better way!
    Janr Ssor

  17. maggsworld says:

    When I see that level of disrespect, I usually attract the attention of the child…teen in question and if a pregnant woman or elderly person is standing while they lounge, I will suggest they should get up and make their place available for the suitable recipient. Sometimes I talk with them as I have when raising my own children.

  18. Diathedia says:

    What saddens me is that people think action to respect isn’t really necessary these days, when it fact, it is necessary.
    I agree with you, people should respect others more.

  19. GJ Scobie says:

    I liked the points raised here and it reminded me of the times I have visited Poland (I live in Scotland). The attitude there of young people, to in fact anyone older, does appear to be different. Having said that I know a lot of young people here who are just great and are trying their best to make their way in a world that has been put together by the older generation. I agree though people should respect others and there are sections of society that seem to think the way forward is by shouting at each other and walking all over anyone who gets in their way. Of course that’s the example they were set. I appreciate the posting and look forward to reading more in future. Thank you.

  20. 2yearsofhealing says:

    Absolutely agree. For me it comes down to your family morals and values. My older brother and I were taught from and early age to respect our elders and to always use our manners. If we didn’t MAN did we get in trouble!

    I enjoy getting that special “thank you” smile from a person I have just helped in some way. It makes me think there are actually still some cool people out there in the world.

  21. mypeaceofheaven says:

    Hi Talin,

    I feel that such values are taught when the child is young, and children learn by example. Parents certainly do need to set good examples for the child. The loss of respect is applicable to here in Singapore as well! We actually have an online portal where citizens snap photos of rude behaviour such as abled teens/adults are seated and a pregnant lady is standing in front of them on the train. This sort of action sort of shames those ppl into being considerate. I wouldn’t say it’s the best method, but sometimes it takes a whole nation’s ridicule to set some people in place, and to tell them that they are not cool.

    Thanks for following my blog, you have a very nice one here 🙂

  22. Tony Elias says:

    Hi Talin,

    I agree with you! If we all took a more proactive approach to the problem, even if it was by a small degree, I think it would make quite an impact. Just the way you set the right example on the bus with the pregnant lady, I think we can all do deeds like that despite any resistance we get. It’s all about making it a habit and doing it with a smile so others are encouraged to do it as well.

    I people in the world are all good in general, we just need better examples to follow from good leaders.

  23. syanashwa says:

    Hi, Talin… nice to meet you.. 🙂 thank you for your visit.. i can’t agree more wth u about this topic.. being parents myself, tough job awaits!! phewwww.. 😉

Leave a Reply

