The Dilemma in Finding The Perfect Hair Straightener.

For several years, I have had the dilemma of finding the perfect hair straightener for my hair. I want something that will be wet to dry and something where I can do my full head of hair in 5-10 minutes. I have a red hair straightener. It is doing the job, but then it doesn’t stay. Does anybody have an idea of the type of hair straightener that would be good? I have long hair now, and its thin to thick hair. well, in between. I am trying to find a good one with a good price. I know the more better straighteners, you have to spend more and more, but I want something that will keep my hair straight for hours and hours without it curling at the bottoms, or without giving my hair split ends on the bottom. Does anybody have any tips on that? I am going bonkers. I always want my hair to look great all the time, but Its my straightener. Its one of those ConAir ones. its a red colour.

I should maybe get a CHI, BabyLiss or something like that. Anyhow, let me know what you think. Thanks :)

19 thoughts on “The Dilemma in Finding The Perfect Hair Straightener.

  1. Wish I could help you but my whole life I’ve wanted thicker, hair with a little wave to it. I have fine hair and very very straight. Having said that I wish you luck in your quest. :)

  2. Do you have to have the wet-to-dry type? I had horrible luck with that type. I have better luck blow-drying my hair straight first, then touching up with my straightener. It is one I got from Sally’s Beauty Supply, and it is the generic equivalent to the CHI. Only about half the price too. I’ll check and get you the exact brand if you’d like!

  3. Try Amica. I only use a flat iron once a week and only started few months ago, less than 6. It has been heaven sent. I tried everything including going natural for 2-3 years. Now I am back to coloring my hair, using mainly shampoo, not wasting too much money on trying new products of which I have so many I could start a salon. But do not flat iron your hair more than once a week. Do not try the wet to dry. Let them dry naturally. And no it does not take 10 minutes. My hair take me 30-40 minutes maybe but its worth it. You can reduce the frequency and also flat iron once every 10 days or alternate weeks and try new hairstyles in between. Good luck ! Oh as for Amica flat iron I bought it from a wholeseller for much less than street price. Maybe I can give you his email.

  4. I have very wavy, thick hair and use a flat iron that I bought at the mall for around $100 that I use off and on because I do not like to dry out my hair. I think the secret to getting straight hair is putting a good conditioner on first, then dry your hair, then apply a heat protector to your hair, then in very small sections straighten it. I’ve watched my hair stylist and she takes a lot of time and does everything in very small sections and it looks amazing afterwards.

  5. My daughter uses Remmington Wet 2 Dry. They are inexpensive, a good name, heat quickly and she can do it before she goes to school in the morning.

  6. I think, try and embrace your hair the way it is, because that’s how God meant it to be, instead of fighting it so much. If using a hair straightener already isn’t helping, you probably aren’t going to get it any straighter than that! There are far more important things than perfect hair – and perfect isn’t humanly possible anyway. Also see your own post. :)

  7. It takes me forever to straighten my hair. Ok forever is closer to an hour. :) Too frustrating for me so I go natural now. Maybe it is because I’m getting closer to 50 and more relaxed about life?

  8. Interesting, japanese women with straight hairs like to make theirs curl. Women like to change themselves, it’s a positive motivation, I believe.

  9. I have the same dilemma! I have curly, frizzy, red hair and I found this amazing straightener in the mall! It’s by PYT. Mine is the PYT-038 and I love it! Straightens my hair without having to go over and over it. Here’s a link to their website for ya: http://pythair.com/. Hope you find one that works :)

  10. I think the key is the product you put on your hair before you straighten it and then what you put on it afterwards to keep it from curling back.Before I blow dry I use a little Redken Smooth Down Glide on my wet hair. Then I use John Frieda Heat defense spray on my blow dried hair before I straighten and then a litlle more Redken Smooth Down Glide after I straighten to set my hair. Product makes all the difference….I’d try that before investing in another straightener (although I have a Chi and it’s awesome…a T3 is good too and costs less)

  11. Invest in a good quality flat iron, like the Chi, or a generic (which still costs more than the mass market types). The cheap ones don’t do the job or they damage your hair.

  12. I have the same problem and it was taking more time to try to do by myself then what it was worth. So I go have a done once a week and I have been very happy, it is worth every penny and my husband is happy too because he doesn’t have to listen to me complain :)

  13. Ugh… I have the same problem. I have one from Phillips now and it sucks. I would go to a professional hair salon and ask them for advice. Their products might be pricier, but you’ll definitely get what you’re paying for. Good luck!

  14. I have a CHI straightner. I think using the wet to dry is the problem. It is not going to stay because you used a styling tool, to do the job of a blow dryer. If you do not want to take the time to blow dry, than to go bed with wet hair, and straighten your hair (pulling it into sections) in the morning. For split ends, I am using http://www.aveda.com/product/5232/16901/Collections/Damage-Remedy%3Csup%3ETM%3C/sup%3E/index.tmpl?cm_mmc=GoogleProductSearch-_-Null-_-Null-_-Null
    Aveda Damage Remedy. I have been using it for about 2 weeks now (put it on towel dryed hair). and notice my split ends have healed nicely.. now I am just waiting for it to help with breakage (as my hair is long as well). I only wash my hair every other day too. Good Luck!

  15. You just have to research and find something that’s good quality and versatile. I’ve been using the Karmin G3 Salon Pro Styling Iron, I can straighten, curl and create waves with it because the pure ceramic tourmaline plates have rounded edges so I can make my hair look thicker or thinner depending on the style. It is really worth it to get a salon model :)

  16. yes, it’s difficult to find the right one, but you just gotta look for it , read reviews. I use a great hair straightener, it’s the Karmin G3 Salon Pro Styling Iron which is great, you can style your hair the way you like, doesn’t cause damage and keeps my hair soft, shiny and super straight. :D

Leave a Reply

