Having An Honest Enemy is Far Better Than Having A Fake Friend

I have been going on the Tumblr website these days to see on what quotes and very clever messages that are said in written pictures and I came across this particular one about having an honest enemy is better than having a fake friend. That is such a powerful message, and I really liked it, so I saved it. I strongly agree with what that message is trying to imply and those who understand it should know and who have experienced it, should feel it. I prefer someone whom either I know or don’t know come up to me and tell me the honest truth in my face, than somebody who will not be honest and forthright with you and talk about you behind your back. That is where fake comes to. Fake friends are people who are so good with you in your face, but talk terribly about you behind your back and spread nasty rumors. Enemies sometimes are better because they are honest with you and they want to tell you straight up in your face and without a shadow character who appears only when the sun shines. You know how they say keep your enemies closer. I agree with that statement. Sometimes enemies become your real friends. Sometimes we hit buttons and hit the spot right on when we criticize people and say things that will benefit them in the long run. Fake friends just avoid a certain situation and do not want to be involved in the bad times and they are not there to support you and give you advice. Now that is something that is terrible and very offensive also hurtful as well. I know its impossible to except what enemies say, but when we pay close attention to them and what they say, they are actually right about it. I know it sounds crazy, but its the honest reality. These days fake people are on the rise and a lot of people are just out for themselves and self gratification, but they have no room for others in their lives and they are so self-absorbed and self-centered, that they don’t see beyond their bubble and they are stuck in it. Not the whole world revolves around you, the world revolves around everyone in it. Words are powerful and they can be used in a lethal and unethical way and we can actually hurt somebody with the words we say, so instead of that, use powerful words to people that will inspire, make them happy, and positive about their lives. When someone goes through rough patches in their lives, say something thoughtful and meaningful to them and actually mean it. Don’t just say them for the sake of saying them just to satisfy another person and tell them what they want to hear, be truthful about it and make sure you are who you say you are, and don’t be a fake person. People will eventually find out the truth, so may as well as tell the truth from the beginning so you save yourself all the hassle in between. Getting hurt after finding out somebody is fake to you and does not want anything to do with you, is the worst thing you can do to somebody. If you are not honest with the person and if your going to be an enemy at least tell something to their face and take up the problem or issue with a person privately without the world knowing about it. If you have a problem with someone and if you have something to say, say it and do it. Be real to others, be kind to others, don’t be the fake person who will do a lot of emotional and mental harm to a person and that can scar a person for life. Don’t be the reason of another persons depression or stress. Help people, do your best to change your terrible social habits into ones that people will like.

20 thoughts on “Having An Honest Enemy is Far Better Than Having A Fake Friend

  1. Having An Honest Enemy is Far Better Than Having A Fake Friend….I like this Title, cause it is a reality, to find real and honest friends are hard to find but they are there, sometimes you don’t have to look far and be happy with few rather than having many. I know I do have few friends but they are true and honest friends, they are ready to help in any situation and be happy or sad with me, share my thoughts and sometimes help in other ways…I know I am alwasy true to my friends and that makes me happy. Nice topic indeed and sometimes life revolves around friendship to keep you happy and satisfied.

  2. Deep thoughts Talin. At first it sounds crazy, but you’re really right – sometimes the people that say things to you that seem mean at first may end up being the ones who you find out really care about you. Wise words.

  3. I certainly agree with you here – I get into trouble sometimes for saying what I think, but I have had false friends who have let me down badly in the past. I respect my enemies who tell it like it is. You have expressed it very well.

  4. Agreed!! and honesty is honest and presented in a spirit of caring, it is not self serving or promoting. Finding true friends is possible, but it takes time and is not easy, but it is well worth it. :)

  5. very true. look, sometimes our enemies become our friends, because we realize at the end of the day, we have the same viewpoints. Sometimes its harder hearing the truth from someone other than a friend because we don’t want them in our ‘friend circle’. but yes, i have made friends from enemies. my ‘true’ friends are just fishermen. and what they get out of me is their catch for the day. now, i don’t take the bait. xx

  6. This post stays true to the harsh reality – there are a lot of fake friends out there. Fairweather friends, butt-kissers and soothsayers. How does one guard oneself when on the outside they seem so genuine and you haven’t got a bug you could plant on them to hear what they say about you? A high level of fake friends would probably lead to disturbing levels of paranoia, lol. Thanks for this engaging read Talin; I thoroughly enjoyed this and I can totally relate (I used to be a fake friend to someone a while back…shame on me).

  7. The spirit of this post is great, and it leads me to ask you to proofread a bit more. In the phrase, “I know its impossible to except what enemies say…” the word ‘except’ should be ‘accept’.

  8. Reblogged this on The Forty Project and commented:
    This one is a little long to read but the premise is very true. So ask yourself – do you want to be the person who is honest about their dislike or their enemy feelings or do you want to be the person who is fake, isn’t honest about their feeling or actions and in essence, to me, lies by pretending to be a friend?

  9. Reblogged this on The big picture view for Tisha and commented:
    This one is a little long to read but the premise is very true. So ask yourself – do you want to be the person who is honest about their dislike or their enemy feelings or do you want to be the person who is fake, isn’t honest about their feeling or actions and in essence, to me, lies by pretending to be a friend?

  10. I strongly agree! I would rather have someone be truthful rather than deceitful! Even though people are nice to my face, there is still that voice in my head telling me “Don’t fall for it”! Even though an honest enemy may seem harmful in the long run, it is harmless because I at least know the truth and am not being deceived and most of the time true enemies in the past have not necessarily been friends but acquaintances! A false friend on the other hand is harmful because it is hurtful in the end because you were betrayed! Anger increases in the betrayed person and trust is lost and broken. Before you end up becoming friends with these people think twice!

Leave a Reply

