How Social Networking & Communication Has Changed The World.

Many years ago communicating with the world and our family and friends across the world was so much more difficult with just snail mail, telegraphs, and many many long distance charges to our telephone bills, and wondering when our mail will get to our recipients. It is incredible how communication has changed the world and day to day communicating with our loved ones around the world has gotten so much easier. Now majority of our world is connected on the internet and use several different types of social networking such as Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, Myspace, Linkedin, Tumblr, Stumble Upon, Digg it, and so many more. Everyday as technology advances and new gadgets are introduced, its interesting how technology has evolved and many inventors, and companies simplify our lives with all these smartphones, Iphones, Blackberry Messenger, tablets and more. Some of us cannot keep up with the trends.

In the olden days nobody had any of these things and how people used to live without technology is so interesting and many people of those days did other things hands on with crafts, inventing games, and a lot of people used to play outside and do more interactive things, but now since all these things have come up, you don’t really see children and adults out there in residential areas playing, or going for a simple bike ride. I think there should be a limit to computer use and technology and make some time for family, friends, and extra curricular activities or simply take a break from gadgets. Although its important to keep in touch with people whom you do not see in your own town and everything, but these gagdets shouldn’t take over your life.

Now that e-mail has been introduced for so many years, postal companies are working less because of paper mail diminishing. I guess its good for the environment and saves trees and paper, but its also not good for the postal workers either, so its a lose lose situation, but e-mail is extraordinary and it acts like paper mail as you can attach files, photos, videos. Don’t get me wrong, I am loving and digging this technology, but its also nice to receive paper mail and it looks more official and it feels nice to open it up. Although E-mail is such an incredible tool, I still think Original forms of communication are far more classy, but then again everybody has their own opinions and are entitled to them. This is just my thoughts on this subject. Use Social and Communication devices, but use them wisely and responsibly.

 

30 thoughts on “How Social Networking & Communication Has Changed The World.

  1. I certainly agree with you. Many days when I’ve spent hours answering emails, I wish they had been hand written letters or a personal phone call. I try to call friends and relatives on a regular basis still. I do miss the old days quite often.

  2. I guess new technology has its good and bad points, I tend to agree in some ways I do miss the old technology, waiting for that special mail, lol as long as it was not a bill payment. Beautiful Blog, says it all in a page….

  3. Good read. I agree. Technology is taking over the world and it removes the human touch. I needed this reminder. It’s nice to receive an actual card in the mail and a personal phone call rather than several text messages when your not sure the persons tone of voice, right? :)

  4. There is something about a hand written note … of “thanks”, “hello”, or just “I am thinking of you” that cannot be duplicated by emails and sms’s … it is the extra time it has taken to choose the card or paper, write the words and then post the item that resonates for me … Blessings, God is Good.

  5. Hey! I notice you followed my blogs. Thanks! Coming here to return the favor.

    Also, I was wondering how you get so many views on your blog. :P Mind sparing tips?

  6. Talinofali — you have hit the nail on the head. I remember Kick the Can, even Hide and Seek, so fondly. I feel sorry for the generation who will never experience that kind of childhood. And from the comments, There are at least ten of us who agree completely. There has to be a way. Happy Thanksgiving.

  7. Thanks for following my blog.

    I love the convenience that technology brings but I still appreciate snail mail. It always makes me smile when I send or receive one (except bills, I guess… :D) I travel quite often so I also send out postcards.

  8. You’re right! I’m 52, so I didn’t have any of these things growing up. Yet I had a great childhood, outside playing sports with my friends, actually getting together with my friends in person and doing things, NOT TEXTING THEM! Kids don’t know how to get along with others these days because they never go outside and play. And more and more kids are getting home schooled on a computer. People need to interact with each other in person to build our social skills. I think you said it best, Good article!
    James.
    P.S.- Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. Saving the environment and people losing their jobs is a win-lose, not lose-lose, just to point out.

    The bottom-line is that real business is done on paper, and that will never change – take it how you wish.

  10. Pingback: HAPPY THANKSGIVING – Giving Thanks To My Readers « What's On My PC

  11. Hi Talin,

    I agree with you and raising teens in this progressive tech world isn’t easy. Kids used to play outside more and now they’re all plugged in (for the most part). We are outdoorsy people, so we instill in them, the fun and importance of enjoying the outdoors (not to mention the benefit of exercise), along with having fun on the computer. I also love email, but yes, it’s nice to receive a card or letter via snail mail or receive a personal phone call. As you said, there are pros and cons…thanks for sharing! Lauren

  12. I loved this post. It ties in to the sentiment that I’m trying to protray on my blog “The Lost Art of Socialization”. But I also appreciate this electronic world we live it. Example I wouldn’t have ever heard of you or “met” you through your blog without it. I agree though – that the balance is key. Have a wonderful holiday season – Thanks for visiting my blog – I’ll be sure to visit yours again soon.
    . . . Pat – Phoenix

  13. it is interesting to read about this happening where you live, as I noticed this back home too: “but now since all these things have come up, you don’t really see children and adults out there in residential areas playing, or going for a simple bike ride.”
    I guess it is really a whole-world trend wherever this technology use has increased.

  14. Hi Talin,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I would have to revise my statements after starting to use Google+. At first, I thought it was going to make life simpler, but now that I have started using it, it’s hard to even tell who is taking part in the circles. I like all the nice surprises of meeting people with social networks, but sometimes I get more than I bargain for, and that can become hard to manage.

    You might also like my arts blog, jdogwhitney.wordpress.com.

    Thanks again,
    Justin

  15. Pingback: Modern Communication, Internet and the impact on the Postal Branch and on us all. « Diary of Dennis

  16. Pingback: Talinisms for Our Life and Times, with Thanks to Talin Orfali | The Practical Psychosomaticist: James Amos, M.D.

  17. Funny how quickly things change. About 20 years ago, I remember everywhere you went, everything was ‘now on the internet at www. ……..’. I still never had a computer until about four years ago. Even texting took a long time to get into. And now…I am addicted. It is like my life is now all in technology. I live in social networks, and live on texting Mr. Str8. Sometimes I miss the good old days..

  18. I know what you mean; it’s so annoying when I’m hanging out with family and friends, and they won’t get off the cellphone from texting. It’s like an addiction! I have to admit I’m a huge fan of Facebook, so I can’t knock that ha ha.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta Hosby

  19. Thanks for visiting my blog and so I came over to read yours. We were told that all this new technology would save time but after I have spent a couple of hours reading emails and of course, my favourite blogs, I wonder how we managed when letters were written or typed, posted and then we waited for a response. I do love the internet though and how would I have me all my blogging friends without it?

  20. All this technology is supposed to make us communicate more because we are such social creatures,but I believe its doing just the opposite. No one can lift their head to say hi anymore as you walk past because they are so involved with sending the next worthless tidbit of information.

  21. I couldn’t agree more. Well done on this article – it’s a positive push for bloggers out there to stay at it and keep perfecting their craft and reach. Kudos

Leave a Reply

